1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Raid 5, Yay or Nay..

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by Si., Apr 18, 2017.

1. Si.

Wise Guy

I'm currently running RAID-5 on my Synology NAS without any problems, I've been running RAID-5 on servers for 20 years and luckily never had a RAID failure (Other than those caused by human error). However I'm about to upgrade from my 4 bay NAS to an 8 Bay one and I'm starting to think I should now go to Raid-6.

What are peoples thoughts? I know Raid 6 will give me 2 disk redundancy, but is it worth the extra loss in space over adding in an additional RAID 5 disk? There are always worries about a corrupt RAID volume, and as drives get larger this risk increases, but if I'm currently running monthly RAID scrubbing on the array I'm hopefully mitigating this issue.

Any comments welcome.

2. BlizzardX

Wise Guy

I personally use SHR with 2 disc redundancy. Above four data drives on Raid 5 I tend to move towards Raid 6 to give me confidence that I can withstand two drive failures... raid reconstruction is quite intensive and with more drives, there is a hgiher chance of a drive failing during the rebuild. If you have fast internet (100mbs+) then you might be able to mitigate the drive loss from backup and get the array up quickly.

3. Si.

Wise Guy

Slow internet unfortunately.. I'm edging towards Raid-6 anyway so might go with that.

4. Armageus

Don

What size drives and what is the NAS used for? What is your backup plan?

If it's data that is inconvenient but replaceable e.g. ripped blurays etc then by all means make use of the extra space in RAID5. Otherwise RAID6 is a better choice (and personally for anything super important RAID10 is even better due to less complexity and much faster rebuild times).