1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RAM options for Ryzen 3rd gen on X370

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Apache14, Jul 16, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    Hi all,

    Long story short, I have a 3900X on a Gigabyte X370 motherboard. The RAM I currently have is some 3200MHz Team Group (Hynix AFR) that won't post passed 2666Mhz.

    It looks like most of the 3600Mhz is out of stock on OCUK so what out of the below 4000Mhz stuff will most likely run at something above 3200mhz (ideally 3600) at respectable timing

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/team...4000mhz-dual-channel-kit-black-my-098-tg.html

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/team...00c18-4000mhz-dual-channel-kit-my-09t-tg.html

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/g.sk...hannel-kit-f4-4000c19d-16gtzkw-my-107-gs.html


    I assume that the 8 pack stuff is probably the best bet but I like the look of the other to more


    Thanks in advance for any advice :)
     
  2. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    BLE2K8G4D36BEEAK

    3600c16 for £110 with rainforest prime today only
    sold out now. back to normal pricing....
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  3. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    Is the micron based stuff ?
     
  4. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    yes. crucial = micron's commercial brand :)

    as to the question that you'd probably wanted to ask, but didn't...is it micron e-die?
    most likely yes...

    https://community.hwbot.org/topic/189330-8gbit-micron-reve-e-die-thread/
     
  5. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    Looks like those kits are on the QVL lists from MSI at 3600 with 4 sticks :-D
     
  6. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    Yeah was going through the order and missed it :( sad days. Any thoughts on on the kits in the OP ?
     
  7. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    ouch. should've been quicker! :(

    in my opinion, they're very good ram, but waaaaaaay overpriced.
    can get e-die ram that does 95% of b-die performance for half the cost.
    deal of the day: £70
    BLS2K8G4D32AESBK
     
  8. hominid

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2002

    Posts: 2,559

    Location: South UK

    I just bought a 32GB kit of this stuff, will be good to get rid of my Corsair Vengence 3200 32GB(8x4) that has never been able to run @3200 with 4 sticks. I know it's dual rank vs single rank, I still think it will be a lot better for my system long term - plus I can see what it clocks like.

    I paid £400 for the Crucial RAM, the Ballistix cost £135.
     
  9. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    @hominid this one? BLS2K16G4D32AESB
    £146 for 2x16gb 3200c16 dual rank sticks
     
  10. hominid

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2002

    Posts: 2,559

    Location: South UK

    That's the one. :)
     
  11. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    yeah, i ummed and aaahed yesterday and decided to order it too lol
     
  12. hominid

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2002

    Posts: 2,559

    Location: South UK

    If it's not much good I'll put it in my future server, I really can't see it'll be worse that the Corsair stuff I already have. For the price it was worth it especially if those price increases do materialise!
     
  13. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

    Techpowerup seems to like it: https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Ballistix/Sport_AT_3200_MHz/
     
  14. hominid

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2002

    Posts: 2,559

    Location: South UK

    That's what swayed me! I was hesitating but not being able to run my RAM at XMP is bugging me. If I can run the Ballistix RAM @ 3200 CL15, maybe with tighter timings, or 3400 CL16 that will do me. I'm still on a Ryzen 1700(Gigabyte x370 Gaming5), but I do have an eye on a 3900X or even a 3950X depending on cost if I can hold out that long, so this will do me for a years to come. :)
     
  15. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 11,892

  16. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    Ordered some BLS2K8G4D32AESBK


    Looks like that will do me for 3200-3600 :) thanks all for the advice

    Edit .. actually was out of stock, search continues
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  17. docsonic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 26, 2010

    Posts: 1,547

    Grabbed myself 16gb of the 3000 e-die this morning for £60.. :) Still on r1600 but planning to drop a 3600 in soon. Just hope my board plays nicely (strix b350-f).
     
  18. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,472

    This thread will help me when I come to buy my kit for the build. Only thing is I've never any overclocking etc so would be looking to buy the best suited out the box for Ryzen. Thoughts?
     
  19. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2013

    Posts: 608

    After some research these Micron E-Die look to be amazing value (both the 3000 and 3200 kits) they look to be capable 90% of what Samsung b-die can at about half the cost.


    The kits listed as good online are :

    BLE8G4D36BEEAK (3600Mhz)
    BLS8G4D32AESBK (3200Mhz)
    BLS8G4D32AESBK (3000Mhz)

    The 3000Mhz and 3200Mhz are very good value in 16gb (2x8gb) kits and people seem to be hitting 3400mhz regularly with them. And that's on 1st Gen ryzen with the picky memory controller
     
  20. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2009

    Posts: 15,373

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    So E die Micron 3000 RAM overclocks well on 1/2nd gen Ryzen? Chances of getting a 3000 kit to 3200 with decent timings?