1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacement mouse switches? (Logitech)

Discussion in 'Gaming Peripherals' started by Werewolf, 27 Aug 2021.

  1. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 29,887

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    I was wondering if anyone had any experience replacing the micro switches in Logitech mice and where to get them quickly? (obviously not from competitors).

    I ask as i'm fed up of every logitech mouse we buy seemingly ending up with dodgy main buttons at around the end of the warranty period (we've got something like 5 in a pile that are double clicking or not registering properly), and as it appears to be possible to replace the buttons I was wondering if anyone had done it, and if so what switches did they use, and where from.

    I've had a look at ebay etc but would rather a known good seller, preferably who has them in stock in the UK rather than several weeks wait. Mouse 6 is just starting to go, once again at about 13 months* - I remember when mice that cost nearly £100 a go lasted better, I remember my first Logitech mouse costing ~20 with a free game and lasting about 4 years (insert gif of old man shouting at clouds).

    *Under warranty but I don't want to have to buy a new mouse just to use during an RMA (especially as I've got used to the "upright" ones), so if I can get one of the old ones working that would be great.
     
  2. Bubo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,026

    Location: Scun'orp

    If I had a pile of 5 dodgy mice with just the main buttons playing up I would be looking at doing a transplant of some of the side button microswitches to the main button and end up with maybe 3 fully working mice and a couple to scrap. I would hedge a bet that all the button positions in a mouse will use the same microswitch, I know it does in an MX518, so if you have more than one of the same mouse type then you may be lucky, especially if they are all Logitech. I would hazard a guess that even different mice in the same brand might still use the same type of microswitch.
     
  3. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,465

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    depends on the mouse. G502's certainly don't.

    replacing switches is easy enough. if you have some experience with desoldering you should be fine. The stock switches will likely be omrons of some kinds but you'd have to identify them first, or tell us what model the mouse is and somebody will be able to tell you what switches it uses. Alternatively once you know what switches it has, there will be equivalent kailh switchs you could use if you dont fancy putting more omrons in there.
     
    Last edited: 31 Aug 2021
  4. Bubo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,026

    Location: Scun'orp

    That's a shame, though I would still think the left and right buttons at least would use the same switch, so there's still a chance for some good old fashion cannibalisation, since the right buttons is more likely to live longer. I have 2 of the original MX518's and one of the remaster, and the older ones know that they are destined to be consumed like a family of Barn Owl chicks where the big ones end up eating the little ones, if you are familiar with that annual Springwatch drama.
     
  5. gitbags

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Nov 2011

    Posts: 711

    Location: By the Sea

    Providing you know the model number (omron d2f series is pretty common) farnell, rs, CPC or mouser would probably be your best starting place if you don't want to use eBay.
     
  6. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jun 2016

    Posts: 825

    paracablemods uk sell some switches. easy enough to do if you can solder. removing factory solder can be stubborn sometimes.
     
  7. EsaT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 10,501

    Location: Finland

    You'll want Omron D2F-01 switches, which are rated for "micro loads".

    Normal switches are simply operated far outside their electrical parameters for reliable operation:
    Voltage and especially current are too low for proper contact "wetting".
    Hence any oxidizing/tarnishing and wear of contact surfaces starts to cause issues easily.
    Also micro load variant's contact design is different and superior to usual one in standard variants.


    (Part 2 with switch tear downs)


    Also unless wanting stronger operating force you'll want to add F into end for D2F-01F.
    https://omronfs.omron.com/en_US/ecb/products/pdf/en-d2f.pdf


    Big electronics component distributors/sellers like Farnell/Mouser/RS might not sell to private persons.

    US based Digikey again sells to anyone and has quite good delivery time without any customs hassless. (about five work days to Finland)
    Though unless order costs at least £33 you'll have to pay £12 for shipping.
    With European shops no longer selling leaded solder to private persons you might also want to grab some ~0.8mm thick no-clean flux solder wire like traditional 60/40...
    Or only little bit more expensive 63/37 eutectic alloy, which has the lowest melting point of tin-lead binary alloys and no plastic range.
    (complete melting/solidifying at single temperature)

    Polish TME would have cheaper postage than Digikey and cheap prices, but you're not going to get leaded solder from them.
     
  8. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 29,887

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    Soldering I'm pretty good at, I've been doing it on and off for ~30 years :) (and have a couple of decent soldering irons, solder suckers and IIRC braid).

    The mice are the Vertical Ergonomic (x3), a 602 and something else, apparently the standard buttons are Omron D2F-01's, I wasn't sure if there was a better/cheaper place to get them than Farnell/CPC etc.
    IIRC RS sell quite happily to private individuals, it's just that (from memory) their minimum order price/shipping costs are high.

    I've actually still got a couple of rolls of leaded solder in the garage somewhere, probably at the bottom of my old electronics hobby box (along with the PCB's, PCB cutter, marking tools etc).

    Cheers for the replies:)
     
  9. EsaT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 10,501

    Location: Finland

    Good old leaded solder times.
    Really hard to make bad joints at least with temperature controlled soldering station...
    With proper wattage so that you don't have to spend lots of time swearing at it to warm up.
    (10-15 second warming time being just right)


    While nowadays even solder wires have best before dates, unless it's been stored in high temperatures (/+high humidity) it should be perfectly good.
    We can leave that best before date etc paranoia for aerospace/military. (+propably medical devices)

    Self clinching PCB terminals of -T post fix model code should also work.
     
  10. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 29,887

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    I won't say I've hoarded that solder, but I've been careful on what I used it on, at least since I was about 14 and amused myself one day making a huge blob out of much of one roll...

    When I was a nipper I was quite lucky, one of the neighbours worked for a big communications company IIRC satellite uplinks/downlinks included and he gave me loads of stuff including a good soldering iron, a set of tools (inc pumps) and something like 6 rolls of solder when he got given a new set by his job.

    I've bought some switches and the good lead free solder from CPC so hopefully that'll arrive in a few days.

    I just find it very frustrating that otherwise perfectly good (if expensive) mice become effectively useless after only a couple of a years due to bad switches, and that's it's made deliberately hard to repair them (screws hidden under the feet etc so you have to replace them as well).
     
  11. rumple9

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 May 2010

    Posts: 152

    Every logitech mouse I have owned over the years has suffered the double click problem after 12 month's use. My current g602 has just started with it also. I did a search and it seems just about every brand of mouse has this issue, even razer mice with their optical switches. So I guess just buy another