RJ45 Help Please

Associate
Now I am a network noob so to speak and I have a bit of a problem. I'm in my Uni halls and there is only one network port (RJ45) in the communal room meaning we can only use one laptop on the internet at a time.

Now I know it's not just as simple as getting a socket doubler because we wouldn't be able to use two laptops at the same time.

What piece of hardware would I need to be able to do this? Other than going wireless as it is against the rules for some reason. :confused:

Soldato
This subject comes up time and time again at this time of year.

Firstly, you'll need to check the rules as this can tell you all lot of what you can or can't do. If the Uni allows multiple connections (don't know of many that do) then you need a network switch. If not, they may (again not very likely) allow a router. If you are definate you want to break the rules then a router is the easiest way to acheive what you are trying to dobut you'll need to ensure it's setup correctly - not something I'm 100% sure you'd be able to manage on your own as your knowledge of network seems a little sparse.

As for the wireless, that's completely understandable. They have resources and bandwidth they they need to control access to and that become extremely difficult if people setup wireless points all over the place, especially if student left them open "as it's easier or faster that way"

Associate
Switch.

Is probably against the rules as if everyone puts wireless in on defaults then can lead to a lot of interference, and you even end up using the wireless in another room rather then your own.

If don't change the SSID or channel and no/default password then is quite easy for this to happen.

This is what inevitably happens.

1.) you unwrap wireless access point.
2.) you find wireless signal from laptop
3.) yo go, hey it's working job done and can access the network.
4.) next door unwraps wireless access point