1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ryzen 5 1600 + Asus GTX 1070 Expedition 8GB Low FPS

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by gurf, May 19, 2017.

  1. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

    Hello everyone,

    I seem to have a problem with my new GPU.

    Namely whenever I run any benchmarks I get FPS of ~80-90 and the scores in various benchmarks are rather underperforming for the hardware I am using.

    Definitely far worse than others found on youtube/forums/articles etc.

    This is the Unigine Heaven (which weirdly shows only 4GB memory??):
    [​IMG]

    Cinebench:
    [​IMG]

    and CPU:
    [​IMG]

    And my HWMonitor (idle):

    [​IMG]

    The drivers have been cleanly installed before for example unigine, no big difference. All settings are stock.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    Reviewers run clean/streamlined systems when testing hardware - to get fair comparisons - so its hard to replicate their results.

    What have you got your memory running at?

    And i think the Unigine Heaven showing 4Gb is a known bug.
     
  3. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

  4. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    The relatively low memory frequency will effect your scores.

    Ideally, you would be running your memory at 2933MHz. I've got another forum member's memory using the same branded kits (3200MHz versions) at 2933MHz with no issues.

    I would try setting your memory to 2933MHz.
     
  5. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

    I have loaded XMP profile in BIOS.

    [​IMG]

    I have made my "personal best" at 96.53FPS.

    However my main problem with the cinebench for example was - I ran it on my work PC - i7-7600, 24GB ram and GTX750 Ti and I ended up with a 145FPS score. Would it be due to different DirectX version?


    Edit.

    That is interesting now - after loading the XMP profile I have restarted PC few times - It has now beeped three times and rebooted before fully booting.
     
  6. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    What DX version did you use at work?

    Plus what are your load temps for both CPU and GPU?
     
  7. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

    CPU is approx 60 and GPU goes up to 75.

    DX11 at work.
     
  8. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    Did you use exactly the same settings (ULTRA 8xAA etc) and are you sure the screen resolution wasn't lower?
     
  9. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    It's not stable - you may not be able to run it at 2933 - try a lower setting.

    It's a bit of a lottery - ideally you would have set the memory timings/voltage/frequency manually and tweaked as necessary.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2017
  10. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

    I have read somewhere that apparently overclocking the CPU slightly might increase overall voltage or whatnot and stabilise the system?

    I am completely green to it except for knowing my boundaries - no more than 1.350V on RAM and no more than 1.400V on CPU and in case of ryzen no more than 3.9Ghz (I wouldn't go beyond 3.8 just to be safe).
     
  11. Plec

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 9,403

    I would wait for the May update - we could try playing with your memory settings then. Hopefully they'll be more complaint via manual settings and perhaps slightly looser timings.
     
  12. gurf

    Associate

    Joined: May 16, 2017

    Posts: 19

    Ok will do, thank you as ever.
     


Share This Page