Ryzen 5 3600 w/ Dark Rock Pro 4 temps

Associate
I built my new rig today:

B450 Tomahawk Max

R5 3600

Dark Rock Pro 4 Cooler

16GB 3200MHz DDR4

GTX 1060 3GB (my RTX 2060s is still on back order)

However while just rebuilding the files, and installing programmes and games the CPU managed to reach 69.5c, and Cinebench R20 pushed it to 74c

also 30 mins on Prime95 saw an average of 71c, with a peak of 82.5c

Now im new to AMD chips, always had intel, and this is my first build myself - but is this normal for this CPU+cooler. Or have I done something wrong?

Soldato
That's pretty high for that cooler and chip.

Is this with everything at stock?

What are your ambient temps?

You could try reseating the HSF, this might sound daft but it happens to someone at least once a week on here, did you remove the protective plastic film on the bottom (aka where it sits against the CPU) of the HSF?

Associate
OP
That's pretty high for that cooler and chip.

Is this with everything at stock?

What are your ambient temps?

You could try reseating the HSF, this might sound daft but it happens to someone at least once a week on here, did you remove the protective plastic film on the bottom (aka where it sits against the CPU) of the HSF?

Yepp everything at stock (other than RAM has XMP enabled if that affects it)

I did remove the plastic, as I just found it stuck to the back of my phone haha

Soldato
Yepp everything at stock (other than RAM has XMP enabled if that affects it)

I did remove the plastic, as I just found it stuck to the back of my phone haha

Haha. You would be surprised at how often that happens mind, a little while back a guy who had 10 + years experience of building custom water cooling setups did exactly that with the plastic! lol

What sort of case is your rig inside of, and how are your fans setup?

Ambient temps would help too.

A picture would help a lot ontop of knowing your case.

Associate
OP