1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. We recommend you enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account. Please see the thread here
    Dismiss Notice

RYZEN 5000 SERIES NOW ONLINE - 5950X, 5900X, 5800X & 5600X COMING NOV 5TH AT 5PM **NO COMPETITORS**

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Gibbo, 9 Oct 2020.

  1. FoxEye

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 28,284

    Location: Cornwall

    Most of the UK has totally shocking internet, tho. It's not going to be viable here for a heck of a long time.

    Almost nobody thinks BoJo is going to fibre up the country in the next 10 years (or his successors).

    :D
     
  2. g67575

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jun 2019

    Posts: 2,410

    Hi chaps. Has anyone managed to run their Ryzen 5600X /5800x memory controller at 1:1 with DDR4 RAM clocked at 4000mhz?

    If so, did you use 2 RAM DIMMs or 4?

    I'm thinking of getting a Ryzen 5000 series soon, as I'm put off by Rocket Lake's average 3200Mhz RAM support (Especially with DDR5 support coming next year).
     
    Last edited: 18 Mar 2021
  3. ViRuS2k

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Jan 2004

    Posts: 6,234

    Location: Scotland

    Its pretty much impossible to get 4000/2000 1/1 ratio until more optimized agesa updates come out.
    not without getting Whea errors and black screens/freezing/reboots/audio crackling/poping issues....

    5950x/z570 godlike board 4x bdie tpower 18c memory @4000/2000if/ 1/1 and i can run this and have no issues but i get audio/crackling/poping issue and meny whea errors.
    max i can get without issues audio or whea errors is running 1/1 ratio @ 3866 speeds and infinity fabric @ 1933 its almost 4000/2000 and i dont see the difference so i currently run that and most people will probably be able to get that...
     
  4. g67575

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jun 2019

    Posts: 2,410

    Yeah, that's pretty close. I guess you could try with just 2 DIMMs if you are feeling curious, I've heard it can help to reduce the strain on the memory controller.
     
  5. denigor777

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Mar 2015

    Posts: 370

    Location: Wokingham

    I agreed with you. And then the news just came out that Ofcom has agreed to prevent price caps for deployers (eg Openreach) for 10 years, and so suddenly Fibre rollout is able to go mental...!
     
  6. FoxEye

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 28,284

    Location: Cornwall

    From what I can tell, the Ofcom ruling lumps FTTC and FTTP together under the label "new fibre services".

    Because what I've read is that BT can't increase prices "on its copper network" by more than the rate of inflation. However it is already known that FTTC prices are going up by >5% every year from now on. So FTTC obviously isn't considered to be a service "on the copper network", quite bizarrely.

    Very sadly therefore, when Ofcom talks about "new fibre services" they must also be including FTTC.

    So I still would be more than willing to bet that we won't have "proper" fibre in this country at ~90% coverage for the next 30 years or so. The usual "not economically viable" lines will get rolled out for vast swathes of the UK.

    E.g. in my area BT have "no plans" to upgrade any exchange that is already FTTC enabled.
     
  7. angel102

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2013

    Posts: 359

    any news on the 5900x stock situation? really getting an itchy trigger finger and looks like i will be forced to go with a 5800x instead
     
  8. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

    I've totally given up on buying tech :(
     
  9. angel102

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2013

    Posts: 359

    been waiting almost 6 months for a 5900x, so sick of waiting.
     
  10. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,808

    Location: Bristol

    What system are you running in the meantime?
     
  11. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

    Surely the "6900x" will be out soon?
     
  12. Solz

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2009

    Posts: 328

    Location: London

    Also sick of waiting been 6 months+ was gonna buy the 5800x today then decided not to! might just wait till the new DDR5 based CPU's come out, currently on the I7 6700K :(
     
  13. angel102

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2013

    Posts: 359

    8700 non-K, z490 asus prime P(yeah yeah, I know), NH-D15, 32gb vengeance RGB pro, 1tb Samsung 970 evo and a 2080super i managed to snag last January before the excrement started hitting the fan with covid and mining.

    it's a pretty good system but starting to show its age now, will be transplanting the old cpu and motherboard to a "new" HTPC using my old case, corsair psu and gtx 1060 6GB for the big telly.
     
    Last edited: 23 Mar 2021
  14. angel102

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2013

    Posts: 359

    just did the opposite, got the 5800x and Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER, a little overkill for my needs right now, but should see me for a good few years now.
     
  15. Solz

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2009

    Posts: 328

    Location: London

    Funny you should say that I had both he 5800x and Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER ready to buy, was just about to click, but something was telling me not to get it,
    as I heard about the overheating issue, and I'll have to undervolt to keep it good! and at a good price £661 for both
    so decided to wait! I have the 3080fe so struggling a bit! with the current CPU, got the ram ready to go.

    Which I bought 2 sets Crucial Ballistix BL2K8G36C16U4B 3600 MHz 16GB (8GB x2) 16-18-18-38, so it'll be 8gbx4 32gb single rank I think its REV.E
    just have to play the waiting game and end up buying AM4 at this rate and wasted my money on ram. lol (getting nowhere near 99% more like 50%ish GPU usage, CPU is stopping that)
     
    Last edited: 25 Mar 2021
  16. Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,711

    Location: Wirral

    Reselling that RAM should not be a challenge!
     
  17. Humbucker

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2019

    Posts: 170

    it's always a drag buying memory when it's an immediate new standard. you pay out the nose for it and performance is rarely better until software matures.
     
  18. mattyg

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jun 2007

    Posts: 8,357

    I've bagged a 5950x. There are still some around but you may have to buy a bundle......B550 Strix motherboard will be getting sold next week.
    Seems odd the place says out of stock for the CPU. Which is priced at more than a bundle with MB......Crazy times
     
  19. FoxEye

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 28,284

    Location: Cornwall

    Just ordered a 5600x for £226.

    Not sure if the order will be honoured tho :p Seems like a mis-price. I don't think it's necessarily a "bargain", more like the price the thing should be.
     
  20. Shaolin Chicken

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2007

    Posts: 1,628

    Location: Up a Tree

    Very nice price!
    Good Luck, hope it works out.