1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seems to power up but screen activly told to turn off?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mark2410, Jan 6, 2019.

  1. mark2410

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 2, 2004

    Posts: 903

    so, old computer bits been recycled to nephew. had problems booting, cpu swap did nothing so figured was mobo, bought new one and boom booted and had been working great.

    however.....

    it seems that its now gone back to not booting properly. they turn on the power and the fans all light up but monitor gets put to standby.

    does this mean its the gpu dying? this is similar to what was happening to me before and a gpu change never helped any.

    could it be a wonky psu having killed the onld mobo and now killed the new one?

    i have to leave the county at the end of the week so time is pressing
     
  2. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 6,122

    Location: Finland

    Bad PSU can kill any part, so was that also some old cheap PSU?
     
  3. mark2410

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 2, 2004

    Posts: 903

    if i recall, it was a 430w corsair.

    however they brought the thing to me today an it powered up fine so it seems as if crisis over and its working.
     
  4. Blackhawk47

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 17, 2007

    Posts: 10,938

    Location: West Yorkshire / Market Bosworth

    RAM properly seated?
     
  5. mark2410

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 2, 2004

    Posts: 903

    balls, so its doing it again. its not posting. swaped the gpu no difference and it can be ram as it wouldnt have been working fine when posting, this is just like before with the previous motherboard.

    i had tested another cpu with the old mobo and was doing the same so the only thing left is the PSU, is it possible the psu could cause the mobo to fail to post but otherwise powerup all the fans? im running out of ideas

    is it worth me buying another psu to try in it?
     
  6. RushFX

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2011

    Posts: 184

    Location: Essex

    I've run into thus before and it was because of my ram not being seated properly