Should I stay or should I go?

Soldato
I work as a 2nd line support / Field IT engineer for a managed service provider (provide support for a multitude of companies) and have been at the same company for about 10 years.

An ex-coworker/friend recently joined a new company (public). It has its own internal IT, this friend has approached me and asked me to join him. Has has pretty much guaranteed me a job.

Now, my dilemma is that up until this morning the job offer from my friend was better in every way; pay was slightly more, 2 weeks extra holiday, 20 minutes off my travel time and 37 hours per week as opposed to 40.

What has changed this morning is my directors have sat with me and offered me more money but not on the basis that they knew I was looking to move on. They said that they are aware that I and another colleague hold their business together and outlined plans for bonuses, more feedback from me and the other colleague on the business, paid training and even look at ways in which they could allow us to work from home occasionally and start/finish earlier.

This is a huge change in direction from the company I am with and I am not sure what to make of it.

My thoughts are to go to the interview of this new potential role and request the same financial benefits I have now and see how it plays out.

My only gripe is that I will be exposed to a lot less IT in the new role as now I get to experience so much more.

Long term, I am looking to get into IT security and likely, move on. The current company I am with has a better chance of transitioning to fit my needs rather than the new role.

I am not sure what to do.

Permabanned
An ex-coworker/friend recently joined a new company (public). It has its own internal IT, this friend has approached me and asked me to join him. Has has pretty much guaranteed me a job.