1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Show me your home network

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by mikehhhhhhh, 11 May 2021.

  1. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,696

    You’re the one that seems angry. You ok babe?
     
  2. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 12,909

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Not angry in the slightest. Some of us actually do networks etc for a living, so just interested when we see odd design choices. More than happy to make suggestions on how to fix or improve those odd choices, and educate people where possible.

    Some of the things you are doing are unnecessary and others can be done in better ways - it's you who seems unable to take constructive criticism
     
  3. ov_sjo

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Sep 2014

    Posts: 617

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  4. watercooledman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2021

    Posts: 1,628

    What's the difference than just using a normal router at home
     
  5. no_sleep_til

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2007

    Posts: 114

    Location: Durham

    my home network consists of a modem/router next to the phone socket with a couple of cat 5 cables plugged into it. one from my rig and the other for the TV for streaming. everything else that has net access connects via wifi: 2 IP cams. and occasionally my mobile when i'm in bed and want to read a review of a film i'm watching

    i won't insult anybody's intelligence by posting a pic/network map :)
     
  6. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Nov 2014

    Posts: 6,537

    All my network consists of is the virgin super hub 3.

    This has my work and 2 x pcs wired to it and then the following are WiFi.

    2 x now tv boxes
    2 x mobile phones
    1 x laptop
    1 x tablet
    1 x xbox 360
    1 x Nintendo wii
    1 x Nintendo switch

    Nothing fancy at all and everything works fine so no need to have ant additional hardware
     
  7. sirp

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 370

    Which is the best thread to post in to ask for help on setting up a better home network up? I have read the FAQ's and am still not 100% sure of the best way to go, just need a bit of advice.
     
  8. Yaayuh!

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Nov 2010

    Posts: 21,679

    Missed this thread. Here's my wee setup.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. HoneyBadger

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Aug 2016

    Posts: 3,854

    Location: Kent

    It’s been a while, but doesn’t hiding your SSID also increase broadcast traffic massively, thus decreasing performance?
     
  10. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2006

    Posts: 8,879

    Here is mine, well the diagram of it.

    [​IMG]

    The US-16-XG is being replaced by the USW-Pro-Aggregation-EU in a few days.
     
  11. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Dec 2003

    Posts: 4,530

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Fascinating. I've never heard of CAMECT until your post. How do you find it? Do you use it alongide the NVR you mentioned on your NAS? Or do you simply point the CAMECT to the Nas storage ?
     
  12. mikehhhhhhh

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Dec 2017

    Posts: 713

    It's very unpolished and underdeveloped. It does a pretty good job of object detection and alerting, though, so that's all I really use it for. I go to the NVR for playback.
     
  13. krooton

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 May 2004

    Posts: 27,298

    Location: Leafy outskirts of London

    Smart Hub 2:
    Ethernet to Unifi AP
    Ethernet to TADO heating bridge
    Ethernet to catflap bridge
    Ethernet to a switch in the study, connecting my main PC, Unraid media server, and Somfy Protect bridge
     
  14. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,002

    Location: Midlands

    no one is gonna leave them out in plain sight duh.
     
  15. shiver

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jun 2007

    Posts: 1,148

    Location: London

    What feet are you using on the unifi kit there? Currently resting my PoE switch on a random hard drive tray to help with airflow but it's not ideal
     
  16. Yaayuh!

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Nov 2010

    Posts: 21,679

    Tall cone bumpers/feet: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B075KWVTJV
    :)
     
  17. shiver

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jun 2007

    Posts: 1,148

    Location: London

  18. thebandit

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Mar 2009

    Posts: 763

    Location: Essex

    [​IMG]


    Not very pretty, don't judge ... :cry: Just recently moved a load of my bits into the cupboard under the stairs to clear the clutter in the living room. I just got the cables in place and wired it all up, I intend to do a much nicer job in time, add a backup 5g router, PoE switch etc to the OC200 and R605 router. Have to say, for home use the TP link EAP stuff is great, especially since overhaul in the Omada app, its really slick and just the right level of configurability. I have 4 APs dotted around (1 outdoor), it never skips a beat.
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2021
  19. sandys

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,315

    Location: Bristol

    @thebandit it looks good, it's all very fancy in here, mine is a multiple clusters of crap dotted around the house as and when I needed it. :D

    I have a VM router & 5G modem into server to do load balancing/failover wired into an assortment of stuff screwed to the under side of desks around the house, it isn't pretty but not visible and probably all quite insecure, still a lot of bandwidth around the house for not a lot of money really.

    Hubs/Switches/APs -
    1x Tplink SX-105 10Gb hub to give me a 20Gb link to my NAS.
    1x Zyxel XGS1210-12 to give 1/2.5/10Gb to rest of network
    1x QNAP QSW-1105-5T to share 2.5 Gb NAS link to upstairs office.
    5x Huawei AX3 to give 1Gb wifi to everything, everywhere plus a few wired items on its hub.

    A bit clunky and zero thought has gone into it but it works.
     
  20. thebandit

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Mar 2009

    Posts: 763

    Location: Essex

    @sandys Just out of interest which 5g modem / SIM did you go for ?