1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So I want to play in 4k and 1440p.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Jimbo, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    I've kind of gotten out of PC gaming having gone the way of the console. As a result ive totally neglected my pc. So recently I upgraded my monitor, Samsung U3R2592 @ 3840 x 2160 60hz. And I was thinking of buying the Saphire RX vega 64 Nitro (it was £300 last night and today its gone up to £359.99) But my question is will the rest of my pc drag it down. Ive a i5-4670 cpu and a MSI B45 G83 mobo, 8 gig crucial ddr3 1600mhz. power wise ive Enermax liberty 620watt.

    Is it pointless upgrading the gpu to vega 64?
     
  2. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    Not really. At 4K you are GPU bound, the CPU doesn't do a lot.

    But you won't really be able to play games at 4k very well with Vega 64. A lot of them will run below 30fps at ultra settings!

    It's also very power hungry, not even sure a 620Watt PSU will be good enough! The GPU sucks up 300W
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  3. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Im surprised at that. I would have thought GPUs these days would have been more than capable of doing a decent 4k output with reasnoble graphic settings. Im not really that bothered at always ultra settings but would be a nice option. Really 620watt not sufficient? Its a very good psu. Maybes i should wait a year or 2.
     
  4. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    Well you can certainly turn off graphics options, but even then I would say Vega 64 is not a great 4k gaming GPU
     
  5. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Some of the benchmarks ive seen didnt look too bad. But thanks for your opinion. I suppose i could go for the 5700XT or even Nvidia but i dont really want to spend much more than 300 to 380.
     
  6. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    But really the only reason was i was looking last night and the said card was £300 so i thought was a good deal and should have bought. But i decided to mull it over and lo and behold today its gone up to £359.99 well lesson learned.
     
  7. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    Yep, 5700XT would be a much better option
     
  8. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Ill wait then Vincent thanks for the help.
     
  9. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 861

    Location: Up Norf

    to be fair, most cards will struggle at 4k with everything cranked all the way to 11. The vega cards arent bad with a few settings turned down but as above, id aim for a 5700xt or try and find a 2nd hand 1080ti, id imagine they're still above the £400 mark though.
     
  10. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Yeah thanks i suppose i could keep an eye on the market here or the bay. In no hurry though
     
  11. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 11,059

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Whats your monitor model? What you wrote there is the wrong code.

    Personally I wouldn't buy Vega 64 now, but 5700XT. And worst case scenario when a game cannot hit 60fps, switch to 3200x1800 resolution and upscale to 4K using the GPU Upscale & Image Sharpening toggles on the drivers. AMD GPU Upscale & RIS work wonders in DX12 games.

    However true your CPU would be dragging you down even at 4K these days.
    But you do not need something more expensive there. Wait for the B550 boards and plug a 3600 on it. Or buy a B450 with a 2600X if you find one cheap, with 3200C14 ram.
     
  12. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,699

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Sorry my monitor is a Samsung U32R592 curved 4k uhd. Dont do freesynch but 60hz.
     
  13. Zernath

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 824

    Location: East Anglia

    I play at 4K without difficulty, though obviously not at ultra. In fact, I used to do so with a Vega 56, so you don't have to break the bank to get an enjoyable 4K experience. :)
     
  14. ANDREW GREEN

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 17, 2018

    Posts: 557

    Get a 5700 which is the same speed and works better with your PSU.

    At 4k you need to tinker with a few settings and you should be good
     
  15. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    It won't, trust me
     
  16. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 14,195

    Errr...you have a 6 cores 5930k, whereas OP has a 4 cores 4670 that's 3.4-3.8GHz that cannot be overclocked.

    A stock quad-core CPU will struggle to maintain a sold 60fps for lots of modern titles; my i5 2500K overclocked to 4.7GHz will time to time bottleneck my Vega64, and with frame rate dropping down to around 47-50fps.
     
  17. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    They are both still Haswell architectures.

    That CPU won't get anywhere near bottle necking at 4k.
     
  18. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 14,195

    Yea if someone are happy with gaming at 25-30fps at 4K, then obviously the GPU would be a bigger bottleneck than the CPU bottleneck being an issue.

    But do keep in mind OP did mention also at 1440p as well, and at that res the 4670 WILL bottleneck the Vega64.
     
  19. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,826

    Fair enough, it might be more of an issue at 1440p.
     
  20. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 3,135

    I wouldn't trust that PSU but I have run my V64 nitro with a 550w psu without issues. I also use it for 4K and am happy with the performance.