Some very simple ham radio software for OS X - Can anyone help?

Commissario
Well, when I say 'help', it's more a request to see if someone can code this for me!

I'm a radio amateur and the radio software that's about for the Mac is quite limited but my request is [hopefully] very simple.

The planet is split into a grid of squares called the Maidenhead Locator System. Radio hams exchange these locators to work out distances between them.

I'm after a piece of software which simply calculates the distance and heading between two locators (down to the third pair, ie JO01DO). You can get an idea of how these squares look here.

It can either ask for both locators each time or preferably store a 'home' location and then just have a single box for locator entry which one types a locator into, hits 'enter' or clicks a button to have the result displayed.

Nothing fancy, nothing complicated.

But it's beyond me! I did some BASIC programming on the Commodore PET, Acorn Atom and BBC Micro many years ago but that's my limit.

Is anyone willing and able to have a pop at this for me? I wouldn't think it'd be difficult, with nothing more needing to be displayed than the distance and direction.

All I can offer for this is brownie points and the knowledge of a job well done :)

Associate
If I can figure out how the system works I could probably knock something up in Java with little difficulty. Will take a look at it when I'm slightly more awake, but it looks like it's just a matter of converting the square to a latitude and longitude and then working out the distance between them.

Commissario
OP
That's pretty much it, convert square to lat/long and calculate distance and direction between them.

I've found a Windows program here which does that but even that displays far too much info, this is the absolute maximum which is needed:

display-20100408-094631.jpg