1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound card issue?

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by Sazzle29, Jan 6, 2018.

  1. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    Not sure if I can post this in here, but recently my computer has been saying there is no sound installed, but when I plug my headphones into my pc it works. Is it a card issue or something else?
     
  2. hondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 26, 2011

    Posts: 735

    Location: Miles South of OCUK

    I'm not 100% sure but almost. The sound from the front ports I believe comes from the motherboard, if you've a soundcard installed I'd be looking at the cards drivers
     
  3. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    Thanks, thought it might be. I checked into the drivers the other day, and I'm halfway to thinking it isn't supported anymore? It's a xonar dg card, but the website doesn't seem to let you download anything for it now. I uninstalled it, and it doesn't even seem to register with the computer that it is there.
     
  4. hondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 26, 2011

    Posts: 735

    Location: Miles South of OCUK

    OH no not Asus Xonar :eek:
    I've had a similar problem with a Xonar D2X + Windows 10. Asus Suppt needs to improve to be near on useless, coincidently I found a driver which works fine in a thread on here.
    Don't give up I'm sure you'll find something somewhere if you're persistent enough. :)
     
  5. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,898

    Location: Finland

    Microsoft might have also broken alias updated something in Windows.:p

    Considering Asus has dumped support of even lot newer cards and recently even lot more expensive ones wouldn't be surprise if they ended support for such old PCI card.
    You could try UniXonar driver
    http://maxedtech.com/asus-xonar-unified-drivers/
     
  6. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 14,316

    Location: UK

    Why?
     
  7. hondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 26, 2011

    Posts: 735

    Location: Miles South of OCUK

  8. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,898

    Location: Finland

  9. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 14,316

    Location: UK

    Sometimes I wonder where soundcards are going on the PC.
     
  10. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    So any suggestions for a decent mid range sound card? I've tried installing drivers i found on other threads, but installation gives up on me....card must have died :(
     
  11. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 14,316

    Location: UK

    Is there a lot of these Asus cards dying a lot recently? I’ve seen people discussing this since the 1709 update on Ryzen systems and sound cards breaking. Hmm...
     
  12. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    From what I can gather, since the last windows 10 update there is now a code 52 error. Something to do with digital sigining of drivers. No idea what to do about this!
     
  13. Pistov

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 24, 2009

    Posts: 48

    Not trying to teach your gran how to suck eggs or something, but have you checked to see that the card hasn't simply popped out it's slot a bit? I've had this happen with cards a few times after installing upgrades and stuff, or sometimes even just changes in temperature can cause it to happen, and I usually pull my hair out looking for a solution before I realise it was something as simple as that.
     
  14. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    Yep, that was the first thing I did. Reseated everything and then looked at drivers etc.
     
  15. Pocah

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2017

    Posts: 758

    This is going to sound really stupid but have you tried changing the install folder? I found for some strange reason that Asus audio stuff often will not install to odd level folders.
     
  16. Sazzle29

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 5, 2011

    Posts: 11

    Location: Devon

    How do I change it?
     
  17. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,898

    Location: Finland

    There's usually custom install setting which allows choosing directory if default installation doesn't allow changing it.