1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We recommend you enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account. Please see the thread here
    Dismiss Notice

Spec check suggestions

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Foehammer2003, 1 Jul 2014.

  1. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Hi! :)

    It's been ages since I last came here, and it's been too long, however I'm thinking about a desktop build again, soooo... Can someone possibly check the spec of this basket and let me know if I'm going wrong somewhere please?

    Or if you want to offer an alternative spec that'd be great.

    I am not gaming with this system, its primarily video and audio editing, hence no GPU :)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    YOUR BASKET
    1 x Intel Core i7-4770 3.40GHz (Haswell) Socket LGA1150 Processor - Retail £215.99
    1 x Iiyama Prolite E2480HS-B1 24" Widescreen LED Monitor - Black £119.99
    1 x TeamGroup Vulcan GOLD 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-17100C11 2133MHz Dual Channel Kit (TLYD316G2133HC11ADC01) £107.99
    1 x Gigabyte Z97P-D3 Intel Z97 (Socket 1150) DDR3 ATX Motherboard £68.99
    1 x Toshiba 2TB 7200RPM SATA 6GB/s 64MB Cache - OEM (DT01ACA200) HDD £56.99
    1 x Crucial M500 120GB SATA 6Gb/s Solid State Hard Drive - (CT120M500SSD1) £50.99
    1 x NZXT Hale Power 90+ 550W '80 Plus Gold' Power Supply £43.99
    Total : £679.92 (includes shipping : £12.50).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]



    Try that and add a keyboard etc.

    Its a newer chipset and CPU, 16GB of RAM, PSU is Gold rated and made by Superflower.


    Did you really need two monitors or was that an error?
     
  3. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    That looks so much better! Thanks :)

    Yes the 2 monitors is deliberate, I'd find it so much easier to have one for audio and one for video editing, as I'm often doing voice overs.

    I'm currently editing on an original i5 laptop, and it's got too awkward for me

    Side note: I remember you! Man your still here, crazy times :)

    Edit, not the SSHD?
     
  4. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    No SSHD, just a bigger 2TB for less.
     
  5. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Ok that's cool :)

    I guess any old card will do as long as it has two outputs?

    Thanks for the help! :)
     
  6. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    YOUR BASKET
    1 x Intel Core i7-4770 3.40GHz (Haswell) Socket LGA1150 Processor - Retail £215.99
    1 x TeamGroup Elite Black 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (TED316GM1600HC11DC01) £103.99
    2 x AOC E2250SWDAK 21.5" Widescreen LED Monitor - Black £79.99 (£159.98)
    1 x Toshiba 2TB 7200RPM SATA 6GB/s 64MB Cache - OEM (DT01ACA200) HDD £56.99
    1 x Gigabyte B85M-DS3H Intel B85 (Socket 1150) DDR3 Micro ATX Motherboard £53.99
    1 x Crucial M500 120GB SATA 6Gb/s Solid State Hard Drive - (CT120M500SSD1) £50.99
    1 x NZXT Hale Power 90+ 550W '80 Plus Gold' Power Supply £43.99
    Total : £700.92 (includes shipping : £12.50).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Here we are with 2 monitors.

    What you didnt notice with your choice of those ASUS ones was that they only have old style VGA inputs, the Asrock board only has a single VGA connector, so you couldnt connect two monitors to it.

    The AOC above each have VGA+DVI


    Edit, changed the screens from BenQ to AOC
     
  7. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Thanks stulid! :)

    I'll get to ordering, better be quick, I seem to remember the this week only's change on a Tuesday? It's been a while though haha
     
  8. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    This week only changes on Wednesday around midday.

    Note my edit above, from a quick look at the specs the AOC have a much higher contrast ratio.

    P.S you have a case for all this?
     
  9. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    ah, I'm getting old, memory fails me!

    Yep clocked the edit, thanks, the contrast ratio was the first difference I noticed!

    Good to see the forums are as helpful as they always were, I remember when I used to be able to give the occasional piece of advice, my knowledge is old and redundant haha

    This spec would be good for fast editing and processing of video's do you think? I doubt any overclocking would be required? That can come at a later date lol

    EDIT: Yes I have a NZXT Beta Evo I bought ages ago and only used for a month and a few 140mm bit fenix fans for it :)
     
  10. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Its as fast as you are going to get for that money, AMD fastest CPU is still no match and cost more money, plus you need to have one of the couple of AM3+ boards that can handle this high TDP CPU (not all AM3+ can run a FX9590 or FX9370).

    As its not a Z97 motherboard above or "K" version of that CPU then overclocking will be limited to non-existent.
     
  11. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Ok that's cool, I don't want to spend a small fortune on a desktop, but I'm hoping for a significant performance increase over my i5 M 430 with 8Gb of DDR3 that I currently have in my four year old laptop. I'm guessing the difference would be nothing short of mind blowing? haha, not even taking into account the SSD.

    I see AMD haven't made a significant come back to the i series intel then!
     
  12. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,805

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Thats going to kill your laptop.

    AMD are ok at the lower end.