Spec me a projector (and sound solution) for the bedroom wall

Soldato
Hello all,

I'm hankering after a projector for a nice white empty wall that I've got in my room. Ideally something that can project from a phone/tablet but also from hdmi on a laptop. Also, I'm a complete noob in the projector world, so some sort of easy to use speaker solution so that the sound isn't coming from the phone / laptop would be great. Neither have to be top of the range, but preferably 1080p quality. I was thinking of spending up to 250ish but again, not sure if that's a good ballpark number!

Many thanks for any input offered :)

Soldato
Hello all,

I'm hankering after a projector for a nice white empty wall that I've got in my room. Ideally something that can project from a phone/tablet but also from hdmi on a laptop. Also, I'm a complete noob in the projector world, so some sort of easy to use speaker solution so that the sound isn't coming from the phone / laptop would be great. Neither have to be top of the range, but preferably 1080p quality. I was thinking of spending up to 250ish but again, not sure if that's a good ballpark number!

It's a minefield! My research so far seems to point to more money gets better results but projecting under the best conditions you can manage makes a huge difference. By that I mean, the surface you project on to has a large impact and the darkness/reflectivity of your room affects contrast and therefore black levels massively. Check the distance you want to project over matches the projector i.e. will your projector project a 90" image at the distance you have, say 12ft. How bright will your projector go, real not exaggerated lumens. The bigger the image and the brighter the room the brighter the projector will need to be.

I bought an Optoma 143X which is at the cheap end but still performs pretty well. That's just over £400 to give you an idea. Is this just for a bit of casual use or more serious watching?

Man of Honour
Hello all,