1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a QoS modem/router

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Phage, Feb 6, 2020.

  1. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Hi All,

    Currently using the BT HH6 which is fine when there's one person on the network, but as soon as someone switches the smart TV on, or streaming video over WiFi my latency goes haywire. As high as >200ms. (hardwired)

    Can someone please point me in the direction of a Modem/router that does QoS ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    ... a connection type/speed and a budget would help - no point in assuming FTTC if it’s g.fast and you need a modem.
     
  3. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Oops
    Currently BT FTTC, at 63mb/s
    Nothing else available in the area as our exchange is not unbundled and we are way outside a cabled area. No G.Fast either.

    Budget ? Up to £300 if that's what it takes. But obvs cheaper is better, and I would prefer it not looking like a an epileptic gamer-frog.
     
  4. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    Any need for VPN (if so, which protocol) or any form of DPI/filtering? How do you feel about a multi device set-up such as separate modem/router/AP? Sorry to keep asking questions, but the potential budget opens up quite a few decent prosumer/business class routers along with splitting routing functions and wifi to separate devices, which often gives a better overall result.
     
  5. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Thanks - I'll try to answer as best I can

    Whilst a VPN is "a good thing" tm - I don't really need one. I work from home and use the corporate laptop which has it's own solution
    Multi device ? Perhaps, but I have two concerns.
    - Latency from additional hops
    - Complexity. Would a total noob be able to manage the setup ?

    Currently I have the following network - all Gigabit where wired
    Main PC cabled to Hub
    Synology NAS cabled to Hub
    Laser printer cabled to Hub
    Devolo powerline cabled to hub with an AP upstairs
    Smart TV on powerline adapter, but keeps falling off the network, so usually on WiFi
    Work laptop, Wife's laptop and various smartphones - all WiFi
     
  6. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Ugly as hell but....TP-Link Archer C5400X ?
     
  7. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,389

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    The Ubiquiti UniFi Dream Machine (UDM) would seem to tick most of your boxes but you would need to source a VDSL modem as well. You can get BT branded ECS and Huawei ones from eBay for about £15 or the Draytek Vigor 130 is what I usually specify although it’s very expensive these days at about £80. I’m sure cheaper modems are available.
     
  8. Shawreyboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 26, 2009

    Posts: 1,187

    Location: Andover, Hampshire

    Draytek Vigor 2862 would be more than plenty and have cash spare for a decent dedicated AP.

    Shawrey
     
  9. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Thanks
    Does the extra step introduce latency ?
    Is this simple for me to manage ?
     
  10. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Thanks - Are these hard to manage ?
     
  11. Shawreyboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 26, 2009

    Posts: 1,187

    Location: Andover, Hampshire

    Not at all - Draytek's are really user friendly. They are enterprise grade of kit so definitely better than most consumer/prosumer grade kit. Ubiquity would probably be the nearest thing along with Mikrotik but need some experience with Networking / Command line to get the most out of them.

    If you sign up to the Draytek website, there is an area called "Mikey's Guides" and it covers loads of useful things including QoS.

    Shawrey
     
  12. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,389

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    No, the modem is a true modem, so there is no extra latency that you’d notice.

    And yes, the user interface is probably the best out there.
     
  13. z10m

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 31, 2008

    Posts: 969

    Latency spikes on BT connection when streaming videos is a known fault with their service. I have had the same problem and cancelled within cooling off period because of that.
    Using exactly the same equipment with sky and zen none of this was happening.
     
  14. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    That's interesting - some sort of traffic shaping then ?
     
  15. z10m

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 31, 2008

    Posts: 969

    Could be as this was going on for a long time now.
    There is a lot of people complaining about it on their forums.
     
  16. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

  17. z10m

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 31, 2008

    Posts: 969

  18. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Sorry, missed that.
    This means I'm screwed basically....
     
  19. z10m

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 31, 2008

    Posts: 969

    Different ISP fixed it 100% for me as the problem seems to be only with BT broadband and not Openreach infrastructure.
     
  20. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 18, 2009

    Posts: 1,518

    Location: Kent

    Who did you go with ? Zen ?