Spec me a System for Photoshopping

Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
286
Location
Ireland
I've been out of the loop on hardware for a while. I want to put together a rig for digital photography. I'm talking Canon 5D file sizes here. Stability and storage are my main concerns, I won't be overclocking (well maybe a tweak) This is what I've put together. I have case, monitor, optical drives, when I'm done I will have a 250 Gig and a 120 Gig HD for backup storage. So let me know what you think.

Please spec me a a PSU, CPU cooler

Intel Core 2 DUO LGA775 E6400 2.13GHz Retail
Gigabyte 965P DS3
2GB Corsair XMS2-6400C5 DDR2 Dual Channel Kit
Bundle (BU-039-OK) £454.69

GFX =BFG 3DFuzion GeForce 7600 GT 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-025-BG) £88.11

HD = Western Digital Caviar RE 250GB 2500YS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-104-WD) £59.91 X 2 = £120 (approx)

I have about £700 max, but I'd like to come out much cheaper if possible

Thanks
Euge
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
18 Dec 2004
Posts
6,568
Location
London/Kent
Change the WD's to Seagate 7200.10's - these are far superior for the task, especially when dealing with large files. Perpendicular recording...

PSU: Any branded one really, OCZ, Seasonic, Enermax etc. You don't exactly need a powerhouse tbh. CPU cooler - Arctic Freezer Pro should do (cheap and quiet), unless you need some serious cooling power - Scythe Ninja/Tuniq Tower etc.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Dec 2004
Posts
6,568
Location
London/Kent
I would get a 500W ish one - just to allow for improvement in the future. Even 500W is overkill - tbh, that system would run fine on 400W but it may be better to pay the small jump up to a beefier solution.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
286
Location
Ireland
Ok I'm nearly decided. What I want to know is will the graphics card be capable of driving two monitors
GFX =BFG 3DFuzion GeForce 7600 GT 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-025-BG) £88.11
I want to upgrade in the near future to a 20 inch screen and use this to view my pictures but I'd like to use my spare screen for the photoshop toolbars, Is this possible or even make sense :confused:
 
Associate
Joined
30 Jan 2006
Posts
570
something such as the OcUK GeForce 7300 GT 256MB GDDR3 has dual dvi slots and should be capable of running two screens at once (correct me if im wrong , though i dont think so) plus its only 49.99 exc vat :)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
286
Location
Ireland
Thanks for that Ender, Money saving is always good :D My last few systems have been AMD. Is the change to Intel and Conroe going to show a marked improvement over an AMD Barton 2800 and 1Gig of RAM, Suppose I'm still open to system suggestions
 
Back
Top Bottom