Spurring off of a boiler circuit

Soldato
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Posts
5,490
Hi guys is there a reason why boilers tend to be on their own ring?

Is there potential to spur off of that ring, looking to install some 12v LED RGBW light strips for a kitchen
just wondered if getting the power from the boiler circuit is going to be feasible or not
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Aug 2005
Posts
8,842
Location
Clydebank
Hi guys is there a reason why boilers tend to be on their own ring?

Is there potential to spur off of that ring, looking to install some 12v LED RGBW light strips for a kitchen
just wondered if getting the power from the boiler circuit is going to be feasible or not

pretty sure the bolier will be on a heavier circuit like 32 AMP or something ?

so it's probably inadvisable, or potentially illegal to run some rgb lights of it...... I wouldn't

Can't you just run them off, maybe the lighting circuit?
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jan 2010
Posts
24,891
Location
Llaneirwg
Hi guys is there a reason why boilers tend to be on their own ring?

Is there potential to spur off of that ring, looking to install some 12v LED RGBW light strips for a kitchen
just wondered if getting the power from the boiler circuit is going to be feasible or not

It's fine. My electrician spurred off this also for my loft sockets
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Jan 2018
Posts
10,100
Location
Hampshire
They are on their own circuit so if any faults develop on the ring main you are not left without heating, its fine to spur off if you want to.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jan 2010
Posts
24,891
Location
Llaneirwg
pretty sure the bolier will be on a heavier circuit like 32 AMP or something ?

so it's probably inadvisable, or potentially illegal to run some rgb lights of it...... I wouldn't

Can't you just run them off, maybe the lighting circuit?

Amp are only top limits (basically)
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Posts
5,490
yes I would imagine it would be a higher amp circuit etc would it make a difference if I went for the boiler circuit or the oven/cooker circuit which one would you all choose and why?

ok thanks all.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Aug 2005
Posts
8,842
Location
Clydebank
Amp are only top limits (basically)

I understand, but if there's a fault his 12v led lights could now be a conduit for 32 amps into somebody, in the kitchen. but other say it's fine. so maybe it is. I would find another way to put the lights on the lights circuit. Or if it's just a plug, isn't there an actual socket or part of the ring main to tap into ? just then your boiler circuit will no longer be the boiler circuit . It'll be the boiler circuit oh and the 12v kitchen lights circuit. then if these lights develop a fault your boiler stops.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jan 2010
Posts
24,891
Location
Llaneirwg
I understand, but if there's a fault his 12v led lights could now be a conduit for 32 amps into somebody, in the kitchen. but other say it's fine. so maybe it is. I would find another way to put the lights on the lights circuit.
The Fcu should safeguard that?
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Aug 2005
Posts
8,842
Location
Clydebank
The Fcu should safeguard that?

I googled around, seems its permitted as long as the load is fine, and the cable rating is considered, but most people seem to suggest that finding a better way is preferable. Although technically OK, it seems wrong to have lights etc wired on to your boiler circuit. Brilliant for the next guy to come and figure out. OP should wire in a round pin socket for the switched on the lighting circuit i.e. do it properly.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Jul 2004
Posts
10,943
Location
Up north in Sunderland
I wasn't aware that boilers were 32a... I'm pretty certain they are the same as your 13a sockets.

Only the cooker would be 32a

Most don't even need that, they are fused down to 3a at the spur.

They are only running a pcb, sensors, pump, ignition and the heating controls. They draw sod all.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Aug 2005
Posts
8,842
Location
Clydebank
I wasn't aware that boilers were 32a... I'm pretty certain they are the same as your 13a sockets.

Only the cooker would be 32a


I thought he meant hot water boiler /immersion tanks but insuppose he might have meant a gas boiler.

thinking about it this house had a spur from the boiler circuit which i removed and replaced with an extra socket on the ring main
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Jan 2018
Posts
10,100
Location
Hampshire
I thought he meant hot water boiler /immersion tanks but insuppose he might have meant a gas boiler.

thinking about it this house had a spur from the boiler circuit which i removed and replaced with an extra socket on the ring main

You can still do it, many cooker circuits have a socket/switch combo anyway it isn't unsafe. My boiler is on the ring main, that's how they used to do it only from the later regs is it advised boilers be on their own circuit and it isnt because of any safety issue.
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Posts
5,490
Yes it is a gas boiler with an immersion tank.. that is not really used via electricty etc

the position of the wiring from the boiler circuit is *potentially* a lot easier than any other circuit
Hence the question here

besides the boiler going down etc
I couldnt also find any other reason here so far or online about why boilers tend to be on their own individual circuit
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jan 2010
Posts
24,891
Location
Llaneirwg
Yes it is a gas boiler with an immersion tank.. that is not really used via electricty etc

the position of the wiring from the boiler circuit is *potentially* a lot easier than any other circuit
Hence the question here

besides the boiler going down etc
I couldnt also find any other reason here so far or online about why boilers tend to be on their own individual circuit

You have the same setup as me. Mines also on a 32A. Just same as cooker.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Jul 2004
Posts
10,943
Location
Up north in Sunderland
besides the boiler going down etc
I couldnt also find any other reason here so far or online about why boilers tend to be on their own individual circuit

There isn't that's why.

As long as the circuit is extended correctly and your new lights are offered the correct protection (fused down) then go for it.

They are typically on there own supply because a fault on ring circuit could leave you without heating and likewise a fault on the boiler could leave you without sockets. (You would just isolate the boiler tbh)

If your boiler develops a fault then you isolate it and if your lights develop a fault you isolate them, no big deal.
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Posts
5,490
So the plumber actually plugged the boiler into a socket/plug.

is that just him being lazy or is there a reason why he did it this way as opposed to using a junction box?
 
Top