Tagan 580w ground cable

Associate
Joined
19 May 2006
Posts
52
Were do I plug my tagan ground cable 2 had power supplies before but none never had a ground cable before
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2003
Posts
17,699
Location
Leeds
Any screw that attaches to the case.

I usually screw mine to my CD drive, well I use one of the screws and put it there. :)
 
Associate
Joined
19 Feb 2004
Posts
606
Location
Black Mountains
I always thought a psu should have a ground cable since I dont see how they ensure it otherwise.
Any screw that also touches the case is fine. My drive screws dont because of measures I took against vibration so I'd use the motherboard to case screw probably
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2003
Posts
17,699
Location
Leeds
Normal PSU's use the screws on the casing to the case, Tagans do not because of the way the threading is mounted. (I think)
 
Associate
Joined
14 Jan 2005
Posts
1,536
Location
Lincoln, UK
Been a very long while since I looked at the tagan manual, but I remember readig something along the lines of the Ground cable should be conected to a motherboard screw too help against voltage ripple, or something along those lines. My tagan is the very first revision with the ground connector more like a hook which is a pain to screw down , unlike the newer ones with a screwhole.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Jan 2006
Posts
14,478
screwed my tagan ground cable to the motherboard fixing/screw. Should always ground any electrical supply.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Jun 2006
Posts
276
kidloco said:
never put my grounding cable anywhere, had it over a year now, never an issue

Probably won't be an issue, but if anything happened, you wouldn't want your components to fry would you?!? It is quite unlikely though tbh but it could happen
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2003
Posts
17,699
Location
Leeds
I dont use the motherboard screw as its a pain having more cables running around, when the CDrom bays on most cases are just as good.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Jun 2006
Posts
1,121
Location
Belfast
my motherboard is a minATX board so i use one of the free ATX holes for my ground cable. (just installed it last nite)
 
Top Bottom