1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TalkTalk Fibre - frequent disconnects??

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Noel Gallagher, 3 Jun 2017.

  1. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    Howdy :cool:

    I just upgraded from standard ADSL to Faster Fibre on 1st of June, it's great.. awesome speeds I'm getting which is a big step up from the 6MB I was getting previously!

    However, I've been getting random reboots/disconnects happening a lot especially when streaming Amazon/Netflix or just gaming on PS4.. I'm using my own router as the HG633 is awful, so I'm using the TP-Link AC1200 VR400

    TalkTalk are never around to help at weekend, hoping they can look at my line. Just wondering if anyone has an idea what may be wrong?

    Router stats:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 12,048

    The line will need to train. The speed will automatically reduce until it finds a stable level.

    You should leave the ISP router connected until it does stabilise. If there is an actual fault your ISP is unlikely to help with a third party router connected.
     
  3. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    I will swap router around tonight back to the TalkTalk for a week or two.

    Is it normal to get disconnects then?

    Thanks
     
  4. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,350

    Location: UK

    Perfectly normal. As @bremen1874 says, the line is training itself for a stable maximum speed. Your errors are quite high so it will disconnect and reconnect at incrementally lower speeds until it finds something where the errors stop or reduce to an acceptable level. Takes a week or two from memory.
     
  5. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    Thanks, reassuring to know :)
     
  6. r7slayer

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,240

    Yes it can be in the early days as the Digital Line management will adjust your line's speed as in lower it until it stops dropping. It does this to ensure stability at the fastest speed your line can handle.

    Usually takes 3 days roughly but most ISPs will quote much longer than this to ensure DLM has been given enough time to train the line. Also try not to hard reboot your router or turn it off. DLM will see this as a disconnect and can interfere with the training period.

    I'm curious though it looks like you're at 50ish Mpbs at the moment. If it needs to drop the line's speed much more it seems hardly worth paying for more than the 40Mbps package or (upto 37 as they advertise now).
    Unless you require the extra bandwidth on your upload?
    Kinda sucks that they dont do roughly 5Mbps up for the 37 package but Openreach are to blame for that. They create the profiles for FTTC. There should be a 50Mbps profile now that offers 10Mpbs upload but not seen many ISPs roll it out.
     
  7. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    Would turning my modem off to switch back to HG633 (TT router) be a good idea then, as this could affect things?

    I think my quoted guaranteed speed was 40-45mb, whilst I know this isn't much more than their standard fibre package, I just thought for a fiver more.... :D I will probably monitor this though.
     
  8. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,350

    Location: UK

    Heh, my quoted minimum speed was 4Mbps and that's what I get (don't ask - miles from the cabinet) so I'd expect the line to disconnect and reconnect until it settles on 40Mbps. Just leave the router alone would be my advice.
     
  9. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 21,385

    Those error packets on the downstream, what sort of time period is that? And what was your VCOP speed at time of ordering?
     
  10. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    Those error packets are over a 2 day peroid, well 1 full day and the first evening!

    What do you mean by VCOP sorry? :$
     
  11. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 21,385

    OFCOM Voluntary Code Of Practice. You should have been quoted an estimated speed when you signed up to your Fibre connection.
     
  12. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    It was between 40-45, I can't remember exactly what it was.

    Just for comparison, this is the stats at the moment (after it rebooted!)

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. r7slayer

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,240

    So speed has increased slightly and errors on the line has increased significantly. I'm starting to think there may be a issue some where. Personally after 3 days / 72 hours if there is still significant errors on the line id be kinda worried. I only have to disconnect / reset my modem 3 times within half a hour to see the speed drop.
     
  14. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 21,385

    What's your setup? Are you using a filter? On an extension? Have you tried the master socket or test socket?
     
  15. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    I will have to see what TT say tomorrow

    I'm using the master socket, provided filter and I don't have a phone connected. Not tried the test socket yet but I do have one
     
  16. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,623

    Depends on the error type. Plenty of downloading could have produced a lot of FEC/HEC errors.
     
  17. r7slayer

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,240

    Yea downloading but not on this scale and i doubt he is constantly downloading when checking that stability of his line.
     
  18. Noel Gallagher

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2008

    Posts: 4,245

    To be honest, not much downloading! Just gaming, and not much of it over weekend either :(
     
  19. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 21,385

    No way that error count would be normal for even hours and hours and GB's of downloads. By comparison I only have 3552 FEC errors over 1080 hours of up time. Something is definitely wrong. Contact Talk Talk.
     
  20. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,350

    Location: UK

    Pffft.... Two and a half billion upstream FEC errors a week and it's never bothered me! :p:D

    [​IMG]