1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The ASRock thread [support/feedback/etc]

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by AsrockMB, 8 Dec 2016.

  1. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 11,992

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    3.20 was the best BIOS they've done for Ryzen 1 for sure, I could run 3.9/3466 on that, i've just flashed to 4.60 in preparation for a 2700X and I can't get 3466 stable at all with the same settings I was previously using. I've just bunged the XMP on for now until I get my new CPU then i'll tweak again.
     
  2. adrichardson81

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,288

    Location: Cambridge

    I'm hoping they'll improve things over the year, but those x470s aren't going to sell themselves... I'm resigned to buying an x570 next year at this rate.
     
  3. perry081064

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2004

    Posts: 614

    Location: staffordshire

    im on the 3.30 bridge bios using the taichi x370.

    "seems" stable enough on the 3.30 bridge ... but was thinking of upgrading to the 2700X however seeing as it will need the 4.60 i may just wait a while until theres better ( or any ) reports of better stability.
     
  4. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 11,992

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Well there is a new AGESA 1.0.0.2a just dropped on the ASUS boards, so hopefully we'll see it on Taichi soon.
     
  5. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

  6. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 11,992

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Let's hope they pull their finger out then and get a new BIOS sorted asap!
     
  7. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    I certainly hope so!
     
  8. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    I've run some tests using Cinebench R15 and controlling the amount of threads manually to check the max frequency reached by the core(s). Results are:

    1 Thread - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4174.3Mhz

    2 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4124.2Mhz

    4 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4074.3Mhz

    8 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 3975.0Mhz

    16 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 3949.4Mhz

    So as I suspected I think having the option enabled in the Taichi bios with the other limit settings left at 0 does not enable XFR 2.0 in practice. Or enables it but with zero room to maneuver in terms of extra frequency. At least in my case.
     
  9. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    Interestingly I've run the same set of tests using the Windows "Balanced" power profile rather than the "Ryzen Balanced" one and I get the following:

    1 Thread - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4224.3Mhz

    2 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4174.3Mhz

    4 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4074.3Mhz

    8 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 4049.3Mhz

    16 Threads - Max Core Frequency in HWINFO64 = 3949.4Mhz

    Does that mean you should no longer be using that power profile with the Ryzen 2xxx series?
     
  10. adrichardson81

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,288

    Location: Cambridge

    Is it repeatable?
     
  11. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    New finding on my end (using bios 4.60), if I leave the Load Line Calibration setting to Auto (I had it set manually to the "lowest" value, Level 5) I can reach higher Turbo frequencies (in this case I was also using the "Ryzen Balanced" power profile)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    Confirmation after a day of usage, having the CPU Load Line Calibration setting to Auto and using the Windows Balanced power profile rather than the Ryzen Balanced one gives me the best results.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 572

    Location: London

    A bit of an update for those interested, I've been trying a bit of Vcore undervolting using the Taichi offset BIOS option. I've set -0.05 Vcore and so far everything is still working fine, with my max single core turbo frequency still reaching 4350Mhz.

    The interesting part is that when it comes to all cores max frequency while on load I am now seeing 3975Mhz vs 3950Mhz before (for instance while running Cinebench).
    In games using 8 cores I am now seeing 4025-4050Mhz on load compared to 3950-3975Mhz before. I believe it all has to do with the turbo logic and its operating parameters. As the Vcore reduction has allowed me to gain a couple of degrees on load the Core Performance Boost & XFR 2.0 functions are pushing the frequencies higher.

    Will continue testing but it's clear that power and temperature play an important role in how AMD have implemented their new turbo on the Ryzen 2xxx series.
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2018
  14. Nemesis.ie

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jun 2014

    Posts: 213

    Location: Dublin

    Good stuff. It really does appear that these things effectively do auto-overclocking. It reminds me of Vega. Get the cooling right and then set the lowest voltages you can to get the heat under control and then the magic happens. ;)

    It may well turn out that the best speeds will be a result of the silicon that can run at the lowest voltage at the base frequency and working out what that is will be the way to overclock rather than pushing higher fixed voltages.

    It certainly bodes well for power efficiency and the future - wouldn't it be nice if every chip can effectively run near it's max ability and the ratings from the manufacturer become the minimum guaranteed speeds?

    That way we maye also end up effectively paying for binning with the more expensive SKUs just having a higher guaranteed top speed.

    Food for though at least. :)
     
  15. Mugen_fd2

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Apr 2018

    Posts: 20

    Guys, could you clarify for me please. I have received Sinopower mosfet version of Z370 K6 instead of higher rated Fairchild version. Is it worth returning it with the hope I will get MB with better mosfets? Any big difference between the two?(read about memory overclock potential on internets)
    ][​IMG]
     
  16. Kirby Wurm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,176

    Location: Droitwich, UK

    Quick question: can anyone tell me the best BIOS for the Z370 Extreme 4? Building my 8700K system tomorrow when my RAM arrives from OCUK.
     
  17. perry081064

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2004

    Posts: 614

    Location: staffordshire

    Just pulled the trigger on a 2700X to replace my 1600.

    Will be using my Asrock taichi x370 paired with 16gb 8 pack 3200 ram and an asus strix 1060 6gb.
    ..wont be using the stock cooler that comes with the 2700X as i will be using 240 AIO



    Not going to bother manually overclocking the cpu , im just going to let it do its thing.

    Anyone else with a similar setup had any issues ?
     
    Last edited: 2 May 2018
  18. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 11,992

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Almost identical set up to me and zero issues. Just make sure you've updated to bios 4.60 before you sell the 1600 on.

    Once you've got it up and running and stable try undervolting the CPU by -0.05V and upping the FSB to 101 for an easy auto boost overclock.
     
  19. Mugen_fd2

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Apr 2018

    Posts: 20

    I will ask again? What type of mosfets do you guys get with your k6/taichi? Sinopower or Fairchild?
     
  20. perry081064

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2004

    Posts: 614

    Location: staffordshire

    Thanks @HeX :)
    ( looks like you need to update your sig though :p )

    I was just hoping for an hassle free upgrade as im a carer so my time is limited these days , hoping im going to see a difference from my 1600 for my video editing , not into heavy gaming these days but have the occasional stint on BF1.