1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Fury Pro Fiji Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,982

    Location: In a house

    Thanks, sounds promising. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  2. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,302

    Location: Dalek flagship

  3. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,716

    Location: Knowhere

    My Fury Tri-x got here a couple of hours ago and I've spent them fitting and testing it , Here's some early impressions.

    It's big, It dwarfs my MSI 290x Gaming, Thankfully I had no problems fitting it in my C70 Vengeance case. Fitting it was a LEGO affair. The 290x clicked out and the Fury clicked in, They use the same drivers so I had Zero issues and the job was done in a matter of moments.

    I booted up and decided to start with a few runs of Valley to check the temps and the noise levels. I did a total of 2 back to back runs with the side off and three with the side on. My PC uses all aftermarket quiet edition Corsair fans and a Noctua fan and there all I can hear. The card was silent. No whine, no woosh, Looking good so far. I then did 3 back to back runs of Valley and one of Firestrike with the side on too check temps. With the side off the temps maxed at 50 degrees, With the side on they maxed at 52 degrees. I'm using a 1 for 1 fan profile and with a 52% fan speed it was silent still. Not a whisper above the case fans.

    So far I'm extremely happy with the card
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/8145122?

    Yesterday using my stock clock 4790k I re benched my stock clock MSI 290x gaming with 14 game benchmarks ranging from Far cry 2 too ones like F1 2013, RE6 and the Grid's. I used the 15.7.1 drivers and windows 10, Today I'm going to run them with the stock clock Fury and I'll post the results for both in this thread for anyone who's interested in seeing how they compare at 1080p.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  4. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    NooooOO you've pipped me by 200points :p .

    Enjoy you're card. Are you going to join us on the ROH?
     
  5. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,716

    Location: Knowhere

    I won't be, I haven't got a digital camera and my phones so old it lacks internet and isn't capable of uploading a pic. I'll post the results and if people want to ignore them because I'm not an official owner that's up to them.

    I'm very happy with the card so far. Temps and noise are night and day compared to my 290x.
     
  6. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 1,952

    On that note, PC crashed earlier and the back of the PSU was... hot. Alarmingly so... So I'm just going to play safe and assume it pulled too much and upgrade.
    Bare in mind I'm running Fury X's, the Fury might be fine on that.
     
  7. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,982

    Location: In a house

    Oh dear :(

    Was going to say, I could be joining this club with a pair (oooh matron!), but not sure now, judging from the above 2 Xs :p

    Forgot about the PSU forum, so asked in there :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  8. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,716

    Location: Knowhere

    What sort of core overclock are others owners getting?

    Just wondering what your stock voltage results are like, So far I've tried 1080 and 1100 on Firestrike with no problems, I thought I'd find out what numbers others are getting before trying higher.
     
  9. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Mine can do 1094/550 on firestrike but fan has to be at 70 or above.
     
  10. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    ROH is just a for fun nothing more as far as I'm concerned. Did you try far cry 4?
     
  11. IainR

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2006

    Posts: 353

    Location: Ipswich

    I've left mine stock for now tbh.
    Will be xfiring around New year, maybe sooner depending on a house purchase, and plan to run them off an EVGA G2 Supernova 850w that I bought with the first card.
    Should be fine I would have thought.
     
  12. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,716

    Location: Knowhere

    I haven't tried it yet, I will shortly though, I'm running a 1 for 1 fan profile and even with an 1100 clock it's stayed under 55 so far. I'll try some stessful games shortly though, Titles like Dying Light would push my 290x into the 90's with the same fan profile on stock so I'll see what that does to it tonight.

    Someone was mentioning a possible worry with a pair of Fx's and an 850 watt psu earlier. I personally thought it's be fine as long as you're not talking about a 24/7 power up. I have a TX850 and would of got a second card expecting it too be enough. I'd look into it more now though if I was you.
     
  13. IainR

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2006

    Posts: 353

    Location: Ipswich

    Yeah, I've seen a few querying it. My pc rarely runs 24/7 unless im trying to d/load/update a game on steam with my deepest suffolk countryside internet connection :)

    I have seen lots of people saying 850w would be fine, and I bought the EVGA under the impression it was one of the better ones.
     
  14. Radox-0

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2015

    Posts: 2,855

    Location: Earth

    Have gone up to 1115 on the core stable with fan running at about 50%. Will push it further once under water as I am using the stock cooler for the 4690k its currently paired with which ends up getting hot more then the card. will be limited one way or another I expect as it will be connected to a 500 Watt PSU only eventually.

    How are people over-clocking the memory? Think I may be missing something obvious.
     
  15. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,982

    Location: In a house

    Should be fine, as should my 860w (asked in the PSU section) :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  16. muziqaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,281

    Location: London

    Memory can be overclocked by bugging out Afterburner. It is for single card only and HBM clocks just around 550mhz stable.
     
  17. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    You've got to go to settings and tick extend overclocking limits then it will work after you reboot.
     
  18. Radox-0

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2015

    Posts: 2,855

    Location: Earth

    Cheers guys, will give it another shot. See how far this card goes :)
     
  19. IainR

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2006

    Posts: 353

    Location: Ipswich

    I saw that mate, didn't think it would be much of a drama tbh :)

    Are you guys finding a decent increase with your OC's, or is it just to see how far you can push it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  20. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 4,377

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Just to see how fast it goes vs default :) . Every 10mhz=100 points on firestrike roughly :D .