The new Orange Android phone (San Francisco) £99...but a Question??

Soldato
So £109.99 for an Android 480x800 OLED phone (compulsory £10 topup)!!.... its already getting a lot off attention on the net but as a total noob to Android a question please?

Would I only be able to download apps that the Orange store support.... as they dont seem to do many for any phone really!

I glean that there will be ways of "opening" this phone up, its already been rooted etc. and no doubt it will be unlockable soon....

But in the meantime, would I be limited to only the meagre the apps Orange sell??

Thanks guys!

Disclaimer - All information lifted from the Modaco ZTE Subforum, kudos and thanks to the original contributors in the linked threads. All I've done is collate their findings, insights and useful information in this post. Everything links to Modaco threads as files are updated often, so deep linking is pointless.

:: Orange San Francisco Android Smartphone ::

sfmainshot.png

First stop for anyone wanting to know more beyond the below is the Modaco ZTE Blade subforum.

Spec

• Android 2.1 Eclair
  • Qualcomm MSM7227 600MHz processor
  • 512MB RAM
  • UMTS 900/2100 MHz
  • GSM 900/1800/1900 MHz
  • HSDPA (3G+)
  • 3.2 megapixel camera with autofocus
  • 3.5" WVGA (800x480) OLED capacative touchscreen
  • WiFi 802.11 b/g
  • Bluetooth
  • FM radio
  • GPS
  • Accelerometer
  • Digital compass
  • Light sensor
  • Proximity sensor
  • 116mm / 56.5 mm / 11.8mm
  • 130g
  • 4 hours talktime (lol - agreed!)
  • 9 days standby (lol - agreed!)
Full review here.

Unlocking

Everything you need in the link below, didn't want to cross link on this site as I'm not sure if it breaks the rules or not.

Full details found here.

Process:

1. Use the dialler and enter this to see your IMEI: *#06# (don't press Call!).
  2. Get your unlock code from the site above.
  3. Double-check you used the correct IMEI number -- it's free to retry!
  4. Turn off your phone.
  5. Open the back.