• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

**THE NVIDIA DRIVERS THREAD**

Caporegime
Joined
8 Sep 2006
Posts
35,997
Location
On Ocuk
All depends if you play any of those games. None of the issues affects anything I play atm.

I did read this regarding Warzone between two people who are obviously disagreeing with each other :p

call of duty black ops cold war - Issue fixed with 496.49
496.13 kills the game its the driver that brings that error period if the game has this or that nobody cares, ppl only care if works and with 496.13 the issue comes up , 496.49 does not

There was no change in 496.49 for the CoD issue, like has been told to you countless times the issue was a randomly occuring shader generation glitch that could happen on any system at any time where a fringe instability or bitflip occurred. all that 496.49 did was result in the shaders rebaking. until Activision resolves the fault on the game client, any time the shaders rebake, its just going to be swapping around people that have the access violation.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Jun 2004
Posts
2,960
Is Nvidia ever to to get around to doing a new, modern control panel?

The current one is just so S---L---O---W and clunky.

How long to populate the list of games, when customising settings!
 
Soldato
Joined
26 May 2014
Posts
2,694
Is Nvidia ever to to get around to doing a new, modern control panel?

The current one is just so S---L---O---W and clunky.

How long to populate the list of games, when customising settings!
I just tried and it took like half a second. The control panel might be ugly, but I've never found it to be slow. Are you using a mechanical drive?
 
Associate
Joined
5 Nov 2020
Posts
104
Nvidia's is pretty confusing to navigate still, though. Even with AMDs excessive animations, at least I could find what I was looking for
 
Soldato
Joined
26 May 2014
Posts
2,694
nvidia control panel is so much faster than AMD's even modifying custom settings AMD is all animation & no go.
You can turn the animations off in the settings. I haven't had any issues with AMD's control panel either, personally. It's very nice.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
The AMD method looks the business but very sluggy

You'll not remember Catalyst Control Center? (CCC) back in its day. Now that was horrible. It could take 45 seconds to just over a minute to load in the XP days. It wouldn't work without dot Net.
 
Caporegime
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Posts
26,462
Nvidia control panel is dog **** compared to amds imo. Probably the only con going for nvidia when it comes to drivers/software.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
How so? It loads in one to two seconds for me. Changes also apply one to three seconds.
 
Caporegime
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Posts
26,462
How so? It loads in one to two seconds for me. Changes also apply one to three seconds.

Dated looking, not as quick/easy to do things in my experience.

Not really an issue though since I am literally never in the control panel anyway.
 
Associate
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Posts
1,529
Location
South Wales
for me the nvidia control panel has never changed much and i like that sort of consistency

Even if they keep same layout and just refresh the icons at least they would have done something, fed up of seeing 20yr old Windows XP icons still. It's lazy for something that would be really quick change.
 

mrk

mrk

Man of Honour
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
90,844
Location
South Coast
for me the nvidia control panel has never changed much and i like that sort of consistency

I never ever load the control panel for anything, didn't even know it existed still until now. I do everything via GeForce Experience that I need and don't touch anything else!
 
Top Bottom