1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

***The Official 6320/6420 Overclocking Thread***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by easyrider, 12 Apr 2007.

  1. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    Mines on order,

    Please post your clocks :D

    It will be interesting to see if they clock like the 6300/6400 or will need more vcore and run hotter like the 4300.
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2007
  2. [TR]SweetSpotOz

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 6,155

    Location: everywhere

    .
     
    Last edited: 5 Apr 2018
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    OK its a deal! :D
     
  4. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    Ooh excellent! Was expecting to wait over 3 weeks till I was able to build my c2d rig:D! Seems odd only 3 or so e-tailors have them in stock though, hurry up OCUK!

    Let the overclocking begin lads... (ooh, and sorry for posting, but we all knew this thread was gonna be more than 100 pages)
     
  5. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 37,473

    what are the specs of these 2 different processors cant find them on ocuk's shop?

    just seen some specs on the forum and they run on the same fsb as an e6600, so these would clock well with any motherboard able to do 450+ as long as you have sufficient cooling, the asus p5ne-sli has been a real dissapointment to me as i was promised it could do high fsb maybe it was my poor e4300, but asus p5b deluxe seems like a much better bet and much more stable and the ds3 also, what mobo you gonna be using easy? and you gonna be using your watercooling?

    i say with decent mobo and cooling you should hit about 3.2ghz any more than that and i may be tempted to get one, but it would be for my sisters rig since my e6600 does 3.6ghz comfortably
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2007
  6. cssreg

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 56

    Location: UK

    i think they are the same GHz as the 6300/6400 but instead of 2MB L2 cache they have a 4MB L2 cache like the bigger brothers of the range?
     
  7. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    Yep. Hopefully, now intel's manufacturing process is very efficient, these are just fully functional top of the line conroe's. Can't see E6700's selling that well, as I'm guessing most people jump up to quad for that price range, so hopefully, for under £150 we're getting the top of the range 4mb conroe!

    Only seen 3 reports, xbit labs, getting a E6420 to 3.7ghz (at 1.6V, but still impressive), and looked like the E6320 ran out of FSB at 3.2ghz. fanboyreview who got the E6420 to 3.2 no problems at stock voltage IIRC. There was 1 foreign website a while ago that had an engineering sample at got the E6420 to 3.6ghz or so..I'll try and find it.
     
  8. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    easy, what board you going to be using for yours?
     
  9. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    I'll be using a DS3 and P5B deluxe under water initially then phase.
     
  10. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy


    What clocks have you got with your Xeon X3210 ?
    Msn please I want some more info :)
     
  11. Munky1080

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,594

    Location: Gravesend, Kent

    what about the e4400 overclocking thread? Seiously though, with a 10x multiplier they ought to clock good, i would think.
     
  12. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    I'm not expecting much out of them, as IMO it's just going to be like the 4300...decent, just not great. A really good 4300 chip will hit 3.6, but they're as rare as gold dust. Plus they seem to need a lot more heat and volts. Sure, it's superb for a budget chip, but when there's the E6320 which can't be too much more, it has to be the better buy when it comes down to big ocs. Sure, to get 3ghz on one you only need 300FSB, which is a joke, but I'm sure they'll need a fair amount of cooling.
     
  13. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    Its 4300 and a 9x multi :p
     
  14. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,856

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    Might pick one up later this year for some fun, cancelled my E6320 order and got an E6600 from MM instead for not much more than the after shipping price of an E6320 :D
     
  15. Bito

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,215

    Location: London

  16. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy


    It makes clean forums
     
  17. Munky1080

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,594

    Location: Gravesend, Kent


    nah, the new e4400 that is comming out is a 10x multiplier. If they are of the same quality as the e4300's they ought to clock quite well, i think...even with 300Mhz bus (like I plan on doing) that's 3Ghz :)
     
  18. Stolly

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 4,999

    So when do we expect to see these shipping again ?
     
  19. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    22nd of this month
     
  20. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    Any clocks then?

    3.6ghz done yet?