1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official Battlefield 2042 thread***

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by jonneymendoza, 13 Feb 2021.

  1. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491

    I went from 16gb - 32gb in warzone a couple of months back and it smoothed out all the micro stutters I was getting everything seemed more consistant

    turned the fps counter of atm find I spend more time looking at that over trying to kill people
     
  2. AndyT

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Oct 2009

    Posts: 1,496

    Location: Aix-en-Provence

    So, I had a quick go on BC2 portal on this last night, and another couple of rounds on HardCore settings in BC2 maps, but with BF2042 weapons/characters. It was more enjoyable than the vanilla game for sure.

    Portal didn't seem to be registering kills with the BF2042 weapons to work towards unlocks though. Is this normal?

    Also, is it normal to have to go back to the Portal Server browser after every round?
     
  3. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491

    kills didnt work towards progress on the one portal game I did at the weekend
     
  4. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 29,769

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Yes, because people were making XP farms in portal mode.
     
  5. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,766

    Location: On Ocuk

    When the map first starts it's super smooth even on the 980 GTX system, but it doesn't take long for the frame rates to tank! Stuttering is pretty bad on the 980 system as the match progresses, while the RTX 2070 super it stutters sometimes. So yeh I think the game does have a memory leak
     
  6. ThundyCat

    Commissario

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 42,077

    Location: Soon to be QLD

    I'm actually finding the game runs better since the latest patch. Maybe it's been optimized more for users with potato PC's
     
  7. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 24,580

    Location: Huem

    It was running fine for me but I'm now getting pretty major stutters every now and then, not changed anything.
     
  8. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491


    server peformance is worse

    they havent optimised anything still the same frames as before

    and thats a really elitist attitude
     
  9. Deluxe1

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 May 2007

    Posts: 6,003

    I'm finding server performance is worse and for me I got higher fps before this latest patch.
     
  10. ThundyCat

    Commissario

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 42,077

    Location: Soon to be QLD

    I was actually taking the **** out of my out of date PC.:rolleyes:
     
  11. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 29,769

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Long live my potatoe overlord PC
     
  12. ThundyCat

    Commissario

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 42,077

    Location: Soon to be QLD

    Indeed. I need a quicker hamster.
     
  13. AndyT

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Oct 2009

    Posts: 1,496

    Location: Aix-en-Provence

    OK, cheers. Does this mean that to unlock weapons I have to grind vanilla mode (with the **** maps)?
     
  14. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491

    only messing with you :)

    it makes the day go faster ;)
     
  15. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491

    if you want to level up guns play solo/coop mode vs bots

    you will also level up in general but that is capped
     
  16. ThundyCat

    Commissario

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 42,077

    Location: Soon to be QLD

    :)
     
  17. Sp00n

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,290

    Location: Brighton

    Started off yesterday with loads of stutters but seemed to subside after a few minutes.
     
  18. adam cool dude

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,670

    Location: Boston, Lincolnshire

    This. Can quite easily get 150ish kills per game. Maxed out my AK24 and a few of the secondary weapons.
     
  19. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,491

    Same with the ak last night

    the underslung incendiary launcher is a joy clears out bolt holes in quick time followed by a few bullets

    going to do the scar tonight
     
  20. MG42Maniac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,793

    Location: Lymington

    I've tried to play this again after the patch it got but always get this after about 5 minutes of play:
    [​IMG]

    My GPU is at stock settings with no overclock and works fine with every other bloody game. Will updating to the newest driver fix this or am I stuck waiting for a proper fix?

    I've got a fresh clean install of Windows 11 and running a 5900X with 32GB RAM.