1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official Battlefield 2042 thread***

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by jonneymendoza, 13 Feb 2021.

  1. sparkymark75

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2003

    Posts: 3,079

    Location: Scotland

    I have a 6900 XT (may or may not make a difference) but my crashing issues were (bizarrely) solved by running the game as administrator. I used to get those errors until I did that.
     
  2. MG42Maniac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,794

    Location: Lymington

    Thanks, I will try that! Getting really annoyed as I stupidly paid extra for the Gold Edition but all I've had is crashing. I've been able to get about 4 hours in at one stage but that's it :mad:
     
  3. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,498

  4. MG42Maniac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,794

    Location: Lymington

    I've tried the following:
    • Underclocked by 100MHz
    • Ran as Admin
    • Updated to newest Nvidia drivers
    • Repaired and reinstalled the game
    Still get crashes :mad: Last thing I am going to try is running the game on low graphical settings.
     
  5. Screeeech

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2014

    Posts: 4,353

    Location: 16509

    Running it on my Zephrus laptop (Ryzen 9 and 3080) and the performance still sucks, compared to literally everything else - this machine runs BF5 at over 120fps.. 2042 - it's down in the 50s/60s..

    Also, the balance issues are now at the state I was worried they'd get to. I've just been using the NTW-50 which was highly effective against vehicles before (because it's an anti-material rifle) but they've now nerfed it, so it takes like twice as many shots to do any damage and it just sucks, better off going back to C4...

    I get the impression that with 128 players and all the vehicles, you can't really have anything that stands out as being "good" because the moment you do (like the PP29) everybody uses it and it becomes silly.

    I'm of the opinion that there's just too much stuff, too many people, too many vehicles - you can't balance it and make everybody or anybody really happy, the whole thing ends up being 'meh'
     
  6. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,498

    if history is anything to go by they will nerf everything that can touch a heli into the ground after 10 people moan on reddit
     
  7. rumple9

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 May 2010

    Posts: 290

    This is what fixed my issues - in the bf directory find launcher.exe right click and run compatibility troubleshooter until the game works. I had no problems after that
     
  8. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 20,948

    Location: Hertfordshire

    First game after patch, crashed when I died, rage uninstalled. Though did manage to C5 a vehicle with 4 people in which was lols :cry:
     
  9. AndyT

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Oct 2009

    Posts: 1,496

    Location: Aix-en-Provence

    Is it still normal/was it ever normal to be punted back to the server browser/matchmaking after each round?

    I was expecting it to cycle to the next round, after the patch….
     
  10. theone8181

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Mar 2013

    Posts: 6,589

    I wondered how many gpu releases I'd missed to get back to 980:cry:. My bro has a 970, which had the most dodgy marketing ever by nvidia imo.
     
  11. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: Neptune

    I had similar. Same GPU..same error. I haven't had a single crash (touchwood!) since a clean Win11 install and minmal drives/software installs after that e.g. didn't install any keyboard/mouse apps, headset apps...kept things simple. Has been running very well since. 496.76 drivers.
     
  12. Screeeech

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2014

    Posts: 4,353

    Location: 16509

    yes.

    it’s annoying af.

    They need to streamline the whole thing and bin all the crap. All the cutscenes take up too much time.
     
  13. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Dec 2006

    Posts: 8,846

    Location: @ManCave

    For awareness of all those who are crashing BF2402 uses lot of AVX instructions so if your crashing try Reducing your CPU clocks/Ram clocks

    in other words STRESS test AVX which most Stresstests dont do without a tick box
     
  14. ne0

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2018

    Posts: 544

    I've just done the same, it's not installed yet but putting the 9700k in my daughter's PC and gonna be rocking a 12700kf. Hoping to see some decent gains with this game, we'll see!
     
  15. Game

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,498

    and it gives you no way to have banter with the same people and form a bond
     
  16. Screeeech

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2014

    Posts: 4,353

    Location: 16509

    I also hate the way you can't change squads, quite often I end up with a load of bums who want to camp on a hill and do nothing, and I can't get away from it :(

    Also, got a weird problem this morning. I was away for a couple of days, got back updated the game it will not launch at all.

    Tried repairing, reinstalling, repairing/reinstalling EAC, deleting overclocking tools and Icue etc, tried deleting all the origin caches, tried everything I can think of....

    When it launches I get the EAC screen, then it just goes away and the game doesn't start, no error message, nothing. :(
     
  17. weldon855

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2013

    Posts: 1,832

    Location: Ild

    Squad and players menu , right click your name and confirm squad change. You can't select a squad but it will at least put you in a different one if available. Another backwards step for battlefield.
     
  18. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,711

    Location: Neptune

    Thanks. Couldn't work it out and this helps a lot.
     
  19. Screeeech

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2014

    Posts: 4,353

    Location: 16509

    Ah nice - i'll give that a go when I can get the game to run :D
     
  20. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 29,772

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    You could pre-patch