1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** The Official Chinese Phones Thread ****

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by King4aDay, 6 May 2015.

  1. oremn

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Jun 2016

    Posts: 1

    wireless charging in Chinese phones

    are this Chinese Android phones compatible with wireless charging like this http://www.humavox.com/ ?
     
  2. MichaelAwkward

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jul 2014

    Posts: 3,599

    Location: Oxon

  3. Tealc

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jul 2009

    Posts: 7,034

    Location: Llanelli

    I use my XRN3 as is with what I assume is EU global ROM. No Chinese stuff, just a few Mi apps which are fixed and can't be removed. I have considered flashing o something custom but haven't done so yet.

    Bit disappointed I can't use my Xbox 360 wireless USB with the phone though.
     
  4. freddie64

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,226

    Got mine with the global rom pre installed as i would not know where to start flashing it myself.

    Been reading some guides on doing it, but just end up more confused than ever before.

    It's not that bad anyway and there are some pretty nice themes for it.
     
  5. Ploki

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Apr 2016

    Posts: 25

    I have not changed anything. Have kept the global rom i got from Ali express. Works great!

    RMN3 Pro is perfect if you want an allround phablet. Only reason to buy another phone is if you are much into photos. The camera is just ok.
     
    Last edited: 3 Jul 2016
  6. scrivz69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2008

    Posts: 2,474

    Location: York

    Same here still on rom I got that came with the phone, I just keep updating it and it's working great. I won't be using MIUI 8 when it comes out as I have it on my redmi note 2 and I don't like it.http://en.miui.com/thread-302416-1-1.html
     
    Last edited: 4 Jul 2016
  7. Midlife Crisis

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,596

    Just made my order for RMN3 now the wait begins
     
  8. macster

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2004

    Posts: 150

    Got my RMN3 today, i'm finding the reception to be terrible on it (im on iD which uses three). Is reception in general poor or something or is it network related?
     
  9. dakaiez

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jan 2004

    Posts: 5,705

    Location: North London

    No idea, my three sim always gave me problems both in reception and speed no matter the phone. Used to lose reception at home, speeds were like 4/2 at home and best outside were 20/20 and that was rare.

    I used it in the RMN3P and same if not a little worse. Not surprising seeing as it does't have all the bands like the UK phones.

    I recently switched to BT which uses EE and no issues at all, places i couldn't get reception before i can and so on. Speeds are like 20-30/5-10 as well.
     
  10. Tealc

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jul 2009

    Posts: 7,034

    Location: Llanelli

    I switched my XRN3 on ID to 3G only and it works fine. 4G coverage on ID on my old phone was pitiful anyway so not really a huge problem for me. Ideally it would work on 4G but I knew it would be touch and go on that carrier.
     
  11. smilertoo

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,107

    I'm thinking of getting the new ZTE Axon 7 phone due out end of July, they list a ton specs but no mention of FM radio, is this usually on all Android phones or will it only be there if listed on the specs? My current phone is a Nokia Lumia 920.
     
  12. elrasho

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 6,187

    It's a Chinese things, I think you can just download the apk for FM radio. The hardware will have the ability to get FM radio.
     
  13. Montala

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,840

    Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

    Well, according to the following specs on 'gsmarena.com', it doesn't come with a radio included, which is a shame:

    COMMS: WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n/ac, dual-band, WiFi Direct, hotspot
    Bluetooth v4.2, A2DP
    GPS Yes, with A-GPS, GLONASS, BDS
    NFC Yes
    Radio No
    USB v3.0, Type-C 1.0 reversible connector


    It will be interesting to see what the final price will be, here in the UK though!
     
  14. smilertoo

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,107

    So far its listed on amazon at £359. That site says nexus6p has no radio while others say it does, so there's hope yet.
     
    Last edited: 6 Jul 2016
  15. zijin_cheng

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Jun 2012

    Posts: 19

    Location: Toronto

    I recommend you check out the Zuk Z2 instead, should be cheaper than the ZTE, same CPU, bigger battery but smaller screen. Check out Linus' great review of it.

    http://www.gizmochina.com/2016/06/27/zuk-z2-review-beautiful-fast/

    On a completely unrelated topic, does anyone know of big battery phones that are compact? I have the Redmi 3 and was wondering if I missed any big battery phones that are as small/smaller than that.
     
  16. memyselfandi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 10 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,687

    Location: Nottingham

    Friend of mine has been looking to get an Axon 7 but unfortunately the initial shipment for the European release is only the Gold version (which he doesnt want) so it looks like he'll have to wait until August.

    The Amazon price is correct as it was linked to from the ZTE press release on twitter the other day
     
  17. Darryl_1983

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,319

    Location: Nottingham

    Which of the latest chinese phones has the best Camera?

    I'm really happy with my Redmi Note 3 Pro, but my wife needs a new phone and isn't happy with the camera quality. She'll be coming from a Nexus 6, so 5.5 inch screen minimum, and battery life needs to be pretty good. She currently charging her phone between 2 and 3 times a day at the minute.
     
  18. smilertoo

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,107

    Zijin Cheng: Part of the reason for waiting for the Axon7 is that its DaydreamVR certified with its 2560x1440 screen. I will suffer the pimp gold version since i will put in a flip case anyway to protect it.
     
  19. mdaw

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Apr 2013

    Posts: 546

    I have the Redmi note 3 non pro and find its fine on 3. ID is 3 like you say. I find my 4g is good. I have found this phone holds much better signal strength for both phone and internet than my previous LG G2.

    Now 3 are using 800mhz as well as 1800mhz 4g I wish I could receive 800mhz band 20.

    I know there is a new redmi note 3 special edition I think it's called that can now get band 20. I wonder whether someone will find a way of opening up this band on other redmi note 3 phones. Some have said it can't be done on mediatek chip. Not sure why when other brands have done it like elephone.
     
  20. dakaiez

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jan 2004

    Posts: 5,705

    Location: North London

    Yeah i just found 3 bad at times on 2-3 phone i've used, when i left they said i'd been with them for 6 years. Just had enough with the poor service, that's in London to where it should be good.