1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The official HTC One S thread ***

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by Johnnytoxic, 7 Apr 2012.

  1. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    OOOH EEEM GEEE

    pacrom is absolutely AWESOME! had a problem with beanstalk in the latest build (may've been completely my fault with installing a beat audio thingy...) where the mic wouldn't work during a call, so figured i'd switch. it's truly fantastic so far!
     
  2. macster

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2004

    Posts: 150

    trying to follow some guides to install that maximus hd rom, having trouble getting my phone to be in s-off mode. Anyone point me in the right direction to a clear guide?
     
  3. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,430

    Location: Downtown

    Welcome aboard! :D
     
  4. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    how do you make the notif bar transparent on this? on beanstalk it was a really blatant set of options... can't find it on pacrom
     
  5. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,430

    Location: Downtown


    Its under hybrid settings (paranoid android). Finds the apps - then find your launcher then it gives you options to play.

    on this page

    [​IMG]
     
  6. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    legend mate, cheers!
     
  7. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    just had a look in there, and all i get is this... can't find where what you posted is :confused:

    [​IMG]

    e: just discovered you can swipe there :D d'oh!
     
  8. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Having an inner battle as to whether I wait and see if official Sense5/4.2.2 release is coming, or just to go exploring the world of 3rd party ROM's....
     
  9. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    you can see what it'd be like on your journey with something like trickdroid/or that new one someone mentions above (although that looks like an absolute nightmare to install)
     
  10. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Whatever I do I have to stop being a wuss! Or carry on being a wuss and wait :p.
     
  11. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    it's daunting at first, but seriously once you've rooted, the hard bit is out the way!

    flashing a rom consists of:

    going into recovery
    wipe dalvik/cache/data/system (NOT sd card)
    flashing rom
    flashing gapps if needed
    reboot into bootloader and plug in usb
    open command prompt in the folder you have the boot.img file from the rom in with shift+rightclick - open cmd here
    type: fastboot flash boot boot.img
    reboot
    done :)
     
  12. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Might give it a go this evening then and slap Pacrom on there....
     
  13. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Having just read up on what I need to do to root, S-off, update hboot before I can even contemplate flashing a rom, I'm chickening out!
     
  14. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    depends entirely what hboot you're on. if you've updated your phone to 4.1, you'll have hboot 2.15, which just means you need to do the root procedure. ignore s-off, all that does is stop you needing to fastboot flash the boot.img file, hardly worth it considering you can brick your phone if you s-off incorrectly.

    if you haven't updated your phone via OTA, do it now, then download hasoon's toolkit for rooting, you just follow a 5 or 6 step procedure. seriously, it's so simple!

    e: if you're on hboot 2.15, you can use the 3.4 kernels too, which are luuuurvely! just stuck bubba on mine and have undervolted, oc'd the gpu a tiny bit, and it allows other governors to be used (i'm using intellidemand atm, seems good).
     
  15. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Yea, Hasoon's looked good, but it has been taken down from XDA for reasons unknown, which makes me uneasy about using it, otherwise it would have allayed my fears! Nice to know about hboot, I wasn't aware of that, thanks.
     
  16. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

  17. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    The thread is there but if you look at post 2, the download links have been removed by mods.
     
  18. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    so they are, my bad.

    no idea why that's happened then, will read through the thread and see if i can find something.

    i might still have the files for it which i can rehost if you like (this is obv the one i used for rooting so i know it works fine)

    e: interesting...

     
    Last edited: 24 Sep 2013
  19. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Yea, it's all a bit cloak and dagger!
     
  20. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 24,950

    meh! :p

    I was going to do it last week but just cba with the faff :o :( Besides probably not have the one s for much longer if the nexus 5 or moto x (version coming over here) are very impressive for a great price........