1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The official HTC One S thread ***

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by Johnnytoxic, 7 Apr 2012.

  1. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    more reason to get some practice in on your one s if you're upgrading :p

    it's not a lot of hassle tbh, and being the tweaker you are, you'll enjoy setting up stuff everytime new features get added... i know i do ;)
     
  2. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Any chance you could rehost that software for me please twisted? Is it the latest PACrom nightly that you're using?
     
  3. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    found it some uploading to dropbox now for ya :)

    yup, the one released on the 22nd of sept.

    e: i really really recommend using the bubba kernel with it too, seems a bit better than the one supplied with the rom. but for now, i'd say get comfortable with doing the rom and think about it in the future :)
     
  4. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Ok, cheers. Where can I find guides on meddling with kernels?
     
  5. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    the install process for kernels is exactly the same for roms;

    • copy boot.img to the 'android' folder you create (either on desktop or c:/)
    • flash zip in recovery
    • reboot into bootloader
    • connect usb cable
    • make sure you're in fastbootusb mode
    • shift + right click in 'android' folder (whitespace) and 'open command window here'
    • type: fastboot flash boot boot.img
    • reboot phone and enjoy :)

    any questions, just ask ;)

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8b6wn0r5s8en12u/ju4swTvXVF
     
  6. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Cheers!
     
  7. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    does the download link allow you to download it as one folder or seperate folder + file?

    only reason i ask is i'm pretty certain you HAVE to run it from inside the encompassing folder... which needs to be called One_S_All-In-One_Kit_v3.5

    so create a folder, name it that, then dump everything in.
     
  8. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    CM 10.1 is on! first impressions are great, very slinky. I didn't go for PAC-ROM in the end because the latest CM 10.2 builds seem to have quite a few bootloop issues.

    What's with the red HTC Dev text warning on boot at the white screen? Makes it sound very scary but it's built on public code???
     
  9. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    I'd recommend going with the stable release of pacman, or try beanstalk if you want tons of customisation.

    But cm10.1 is pretty good, also try a sense rom... SSeriously you'll get hooked on checking them out :D
     
  10. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    Kona, do you know how to adjust the notif bar colour when on the lockscreen?

    i've fiddled with it for dashclock and systemUI, but nothing changes...
     
  11. emu

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 577

    anybody moved over to an htc one mini
     
  12. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,591

    Location: Downtown

    Not tried. My guess would have been system UI too. Best ask in XDA PAC threads.
     
  13. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    no worries man. it's nothing big, just would be nice to have that unified feel from lockscreen to homescreen.

    also, do you find the themes randomly default as well? on my homescreen (via nova launcher) it'll go back to black seemingly when it feels like. i even themed it so it was yellow/black when using the bbc sport app, but that'll change at completely different times too :p

    gonna stick on the latest nightly with bubba kernel as apparently it's much more stable than the recent nightlies (i had the bootloop of death just before bed the other night... what a pain that was!)
     
  14. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,591

    Location: Downtown

    Tbh I don't use color per app anymore, I did use it on my GNex when the feature first came out about a year ago :D

     
    Last edited: 29 Sep 2013
  15. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    fair play :)

    i'm going to see how it behaves on the latest nightly, if it's going to be a ****, then i'll ditch it. fingers crossed it does work cos i'm a sucker for it :p
     
  16. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Itching for the 4.3 stability issues to be sorted out so I can move to that and a 3.4 kernel. Twisted was right, once you've started....
     
  17. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    it's like crack dude :D

    tried the latest stable bubba kernel, no wifi. back to the latest beta release for me, although some guy mentioned a version of bubba with no bootloop issues, so asked him about that and hopefully will be on that by the end of the day!
     
  18. Makhaira

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2007

    Posts: 4,860

    Location: Lancashire, UK

  19. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,477

    Location: Bath, England

    i'd say don't bother until they sort out the bootloop issue. i've had enough and gone back to beanstalk for the time being as it was driving me mad...
     
  20. macster

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2004

    Posts: 150

    on beanstalk does your camera app work? or do you have to use a third party app?

    figured it out, i hadn't mounted my storage or something.
     
    Last edited: 29 Sep 2013