1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***The Official HTC Sensation thread***

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by rapid64k, 3 Feb 2011.

  1. DIABLO

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,551

    Location: N.Devon

    It might not be a problem, the SGS2 gets quite warm when stressed for example.
     
  2. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    I don't see how It's being stressed though, 1.5ghz is stock speed for the XE, and it never got hot on the stock Rom, even when I was running SPB shell 3D. Battery life has been dropping like a stone too. I've just rebooted it and it seems a bit better, I'll see how it goes.
     
  3. DIABLO

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,551

    Location: N.Devon

    Something making the CPU stick at max speed maybe.
     
  4. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    Still doing it after a reboot :(

    How can I see what is using the CPU?
     
  5. deadite66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,300

    have you tried turning on "USB Debugging", some phones have a bug where /init takes a lot of the cpu which turning on debugging seems to fix.
     
  6. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    Seems to 'settled down' now all by itself :confused:
     
  7. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,580

    Location: Downtown

    Its excellent news that a dev has added GPU acceleration to this phone - must make the phone much more pleasant to use. I really wonder why HTC didn't do it themselves; I can't think of a reason.
     
  8. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    It has made the phone much more pleasant to interact with, It's a joy to use now.
     
  9. Robbo

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 55,962

    They're stupid?

    :p
     
  10. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,580

    Location: Downtown

    So you bought a phone made by a stupid company? :p
     
    Last edited: 29 Oct 2011
  11. Robbo

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 55,962

    It was cheap! :D
     
  12. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,966

    Location: LU7

    Do you know what the difference between the free and Pro versions of My Backup are? Looks like the free one needs a rooted phone and Pro, apart from offering online backup, will work with unrooted phones?
     
  13. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    Haven't a clue to be honest mate, I just went ahead and bought the pro version. Worked really well :)
     
  14. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,966

    Location: LU7

    Cheers. :) I can't really find any other program that looks as good as My Backup Pro and that is free. I don't fancy using multiple programs that each backup a different thing so I'll probably buy this later on.

    How long did it take you to S-OFF, root and put Android Revolution HD on? :)
     
  15. deadite66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,300

    iirc the difference with the free version is a backup won't work on a different phone.
     
  16. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,966

    Location: LU7

    So if I wanted to backup my HTC Sensation's texts etc and put them onto a different phone it wouldn't work? Pfft, no likelihood of that happening. :p
     
  17. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    Not long at all, backing up and restoring all my messages etc was the most time consuming part :)
     
  18. monkeysmith

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jun 2005

    Posts: 952

    Location: House

    DreXeL - did a couple of reboots fix the battery drain and phone running hot?
     
  19. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,264

    Location: Cotswolds

    I don't think rebooting it had any effect really, it just seemed to settle itself down after a while. It has still randomly got a bit hot again a couple of times, but nothing like when I first installed the rom.
     
  20. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,966

    Location: LU7

    Did everyone who's rooted their Sensation follow step 3 in the S-OFF guide called 'Step 3. To permanently root your Sensation'?

    If custom roms are already rooted I don't NEED to follow step 3 do I?