1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The official Philips BDM4065UC thread

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by phill1978, 3 Nov 2014.

  1. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Feb 2006

    Posts: 4,051

    Location: London

    I think with all the problems the 21:9's have and that this can do it as well it's become a bit of a no brainer. I've decided against a 21:9 and think i'll get one of these soon unless anything better is released.
     
  2. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,946

    Location: OcUK HQ

    These are actually our best selling monitors all time.
     
  3. Paramount

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jul 2003

    Posts: 2,075

    Glad I pulled the trigger yesterday while there was still +10 in stock. Not only have OC sold out again but I noticed 2 other retailers who received stock yesterday have sold out as well. A monitor like this is long overdue and Philips must be loving it.

    I'm a software dev and currently use 2 x 24" Dells - one in landscape and one in portrait. I can't wait to have 2x more pixels!
     
  4. booterboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Feb 2011

    Posts: 187

    Location: Rep. of Ireland

    Hi,
    Looking at purchasing one of these purely for gaming.Currently have 2 x 2gb 670's which I know would not be up to the task.
    Would 2 x 4gb 980's have any chance of running most games maxed out at that huge res?
    Thanks for the help.
     
  5. jimmyjimmyo

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2006

    Posts: 461

    Mine arrived and it is incredible, running dying light at 21.9 and its a totally different experience.

    I have 1 stuck pixel but it is so small that I am not going to send it back as no doubt the next would have a cluster lol
     
  6. Roger Ramjet

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Nov 2014

    Posts: 61

    Got mine today. It's epic, need to find some 4k wallpaper now :cool:.

    A bit odd that it didn't come with a USB hub cable. The USB sockets on the back aren't useable without the 3.0 type-B cable.
     
  7. jimmyjimmyo

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2006

    Posts: 461

    Yeah I found that a bit odd as well, I forgot to order one as well but I am wall mounting it so the hub wouldn't be any good for me anyway
     
  8. wakadoo

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Dec 2012

    Posts: 361

    Location: notts

    mines arrived...yay.

    massive headache with the scaling as it set desktop to about 30% and pages to 300%, I have never had to mess with it before so got me in a tiz.

    once setup its brilliant, full res at 60hz and all sweet, hasn't gone fuzzy when scaled up a little and I am now happy.

    few points.

    being a dvi user I had probs with the sound when moving to display port, the sound came out of the monitor and not my speakers, just reset my speakers as default sound.

    once you master the scaling all will make sense and become fine.

    don't just bin the cd, install the smart control for onscreen controls instead of that navigation switch on the back.

    very happy now.
     
  9. jimmyjimmyo

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2006

    Posts: 461

    What are your settings for the scalling as I am a little baffled by that stuff, also text is not as sharp as it was on my old Hazro but I guess that could be a setting in windows maybe,

    My screen came pretty well calibrated out of the box although the brightness was at 100 but I have left it for now as I am still in awe :D
     
  10. slade

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2009

    Posts: 790

    Location: Gold Coast.

    Well i got my Philips 4K a few days ago and im very, very happy with it. I've been using a 32" Sammy LED TV for the last 5 years as a monitor so thing is a big step up for me, the colours are fantastic..... especially in games/ D3 RoS :D

    Watched a few movies (non 4K) and played Diablo3 (at UHD res) and just about to load up one of my favorite games.... World in Conflict.

    I've not played with the setting much nor have i looked for an faults, banding bleeding or whatever these monitors are meant to have.

    I've set Chrome browser 150% so internet is all good.... altho browser tabs are small but i guess that's just W7 (Bring on W10!)

    I would like to know what setting people are using if possable? And to any one looking to buy this Philips 4K monitor... do it, you wont be disappointed imo! :cool: its the best monitor ive ever used lol (from LG to Dell to Sammy)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Roger Ramjet

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Nov 2014

    Posts: 61

    Most things are "off" in the menu which I think is best. The only things I changed were, DisplayPort 1.2, sRGB mode and pixel orbiting off.

    I put Picture Format to 1:1 instead of widescreen but I don't think that changes anything.
     
  12. SamLombardo

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Feb 2015

    Posts: 29

    Why Pixel Orbiting off? Is there somehow a deterioration in image quality?
     
  13. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,861

    So much room for activities!

    [​IMG]

    What window management programs are people using to tile windows quickly and precisely?

    I've tried two so far GridMove (free) and MaxTo ($18 after 30 day trial)

    Grid move seemed a little unintuitive. MaxTo is super easy to split and define areas.
    If a window your using is in one of the grids you define and you maximise it will only maximise to fill the grid you're in, which is great.

    Seems quite expensive for what it is, but I prefer it to grid move so far.

    One issue I am having is when watching you tube videos they're often quite small, but if you maximise them to fill the whole screen they're overpowering unless you take a step back from the screen. I was hoping MaxTo would allow a way to maximise the vid within the grid, but the full screen button still goes proper full screen. Any ideas?

    I sometimes use theater mode to increase the size of the vid a little, but a little bigger would be better.

    EDIT: It seems theatre mode does jump bigger after the window is approx 1350x980. It doesn't scale fluidly though, which is a bit of a pain.
     
  14. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,946

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Hi there

    OcUK truly flexing its muscles now!!!!

    100 more just arrived!!! :D :D :D :D
     
  15. Matson

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Aug 2009

    Posts: 3,638

    Argh...stop making this hard Gibbo :) can someone please tell me of any reason not to get this apart from the size when iv wanted a 34 ultrawide for months now but they all have issues?
     
  16. Roger Ramjet

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Nov 2014

    Posts: 61


    Don't know but since it's not on for long periods of time and sleeps after 15 minutes of inactivity, I thought might as well switch it off.
     
  17. slade

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2009

    Posts: 790

    Location: Gold Coast.

    Found this on post 390...

    "what ever you guys do leave pixel orbiting enabled.

    its basically the monitors internal burn test to stop still images from burning the pixels into the monitor. as this pixel orbiting will shift the pixels and stop this happening. "
     
  18. wakadoo

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Dec 2012

    Posts: 361

    Location: notts

    anyone recommend a working 3 metre cable or an adapter to make a normal dp cable into a mini dp cable.

    thank you.
     
  19. Seyumi

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Jul 2011

    Posts: 35

    Location: Las Vegas, NV

    These are the only known issues so far but again no one seems to care since this is the fastest selling monitor in all of time for this site.

    -PWM flickering when not at 100% brightness (no one seems to be effected by it or can notice it. I leave my screen at 100% brightness anyway it's not really too bright IMO)
    -Strange artifact issues where colors bleed off horizontally or vertically on the screen (most noticeable in grays, only reproducible on office/web use and not games/movies. I posted about this on page 24. People seem to not care, don't notice it enough, or calibrate their monitors to not show or minimize this effect)
    -Screen drops to 30hz sometimes when monitor goes to sleep (can minimize this by adjusting computer/screen power cycles, turn the monitor off then back on, ect.)
     
    Last edited: 21 Feb 2015
  20. wakadoo

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Dec 2012

    Posts: 361

    Location: notts

    had mine a few days now so tested it out for my needs.

    got one pc in the displayport 3840x2160 @60hz, this pc is for general family use, office, paint email, web browsing, movies etc etc.

    server is on the vga port

    and games pc is in the hdmi until I can sort a mini dp to dp cable 1920 x 1080 @60hz for now.

    got the brightness at 85% as 100% is way too much for me, I have not seen any flickering, I will be honest and say no bleed issues at all under any condition, it also resumes from sleep without going to 30hz.

    although..

    it does return from sleep and for some strange reason the taskbar is off screen (just need to tap win key for it to return) and it makes open windows smaller but this could be a windows thing as I removed 3 monitors and replaced with this one.

    all in all I am super happy.

    desktop scaling is set @100% and ie scaling @125%, no eye strain and I do wear glasses, and I do mean bottle bottums as well lol.

    not using the monitors sound but if I did I would complain it needs a dedicated volume switch, a quick input button would also be nice but if you install smartcontrol from the included cd on each device all is good.

    a remote would have been nice.

    oh, the inputs on the underneath would have been better, just me as I suspect others prefer them as they are.

    if you are still on the fence, get off now and get one ordered.

    not going to give a 10/10 as improvements mentioned could easily have been sorted with a little people testing from phillips but 10/10 for the display for my needs and 9/10 overall.

    I have tried coloured bands and black on white and overlapping windows, I just cant get any faults with my settings.

    30hz is pants, either use display port or stick to 1080.

    thank you.

    wakadoo.