1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official Xbox One Thread ***

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by peahead, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. malachi

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 27, 2006

    Posts: 10,007

    Location: Earth

  2. mad_allan

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 17, 2003

    Posts: 3,214

    Location: Peterborough

    Damn it, missed again!!
     
  3. cu3ed

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 26, 2006

    Posts: 10,582

    Location: Belfast

    Remember that time so many laughed that the EC wouldn't sell?
     
  4. MiskyBoyy

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 3, 2016

    Posts: 119

    Location: Ireland

  5. tyler_jrb

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 24, 2013

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Hey :). Thinking about getting an XB1 for movies, TV via Plex server. And games not available to the PC or ported badly. Deciding to fit a TV at the end of the bed as currently looking across the room into the monitor is getting annoying while watching TV and movies.

    I just wondered how well, easily Plex is to use on the XB1 as this will be its main function and don't want to buy it and be unable to use it. There are a few games not on PC I really like the look of and other games completely broken on the PC, aswell as other games I'd love to play through again. So it will get used for games aswell :D

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  6. pepp77

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 13, 2008

    Posts: 3,788

    Location: SE London Born and Bred

    I use Plex on a Roku which is excellent. The little play I had with the Xbox version seemed to be about 95% the same so very good. I was controlling it with a harmony remote rather than the controller.
     
  7. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 18,687

    Location: London

    I wouldn't use the XB1 for Plex. It's power hungry just playing video. Also you need to spend money on a remote as it gets tiring using a massive controller.

    Get a Chromecast or Roku Box.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  8. cu3ed

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 26, 2006

    Posts: 10,582

    Location: Belfast

    I didn't know those could play XO game as well?
     
  9. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 18,687

    Location: London

    His rationale is a combination of factors.

    If the reason was to play XB1 games, then the other stuff was always irrelevant. Even with an XB1, spend the money you would getting a multimedia controller on a Chromecast.
     
  10. tyler_jrb

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 24, 2013

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Thanks for the replies. I'm set on an XB1 as I still want to be able to play XB1 games :). I don't mind navigating with the controller but I'll certainly look into that multimedia controller aswell.

    Power isn't a problem. Got to be better than the 300+w idle my PC currently uses.

    Thanks for the help. Just wanted to make sure Plex would well before I went ahead and bought the XB1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
  11. Phog

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2004

    Posts: 3,187

    Location: Central London

    I use plex on my X1 regularly and it's absolutely fine. I use a combination of the controller and the Kinect voice commands and I've never had an issue. Not sure what the issue of using a controller is...
     
  12. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 18,687

    Location: London

    It isn't really one handed operation, turns off and bulky compared to a remote.

    Ergonomically it is far from ideal for multimedia.
     
  13. Plainsong

    Soldato

    Joined: May 5, 2008

    Posts: 7,115

    Location: Chester

    I've never used a remote. Controller suits me fine.
     
  14. Dannyb01y

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 3,162

    Location: Brighton

  15. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 8,628

    Location: UK

    I use Plex on my XB1 all the time with the media remote.

    Works perfectly. :)
     
  16. robbiemc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2003

    Posts: 2,262

    Location: West Byfleet, Surrey.

    Me too, its a great solution.
     
  17. robbiemc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2003

    Posts: 2,262

    Location: West Byfleet, Surrey.

    Hmm, I need some help please guys.
    A couple of days ago I installed a 360 version of 'Portal' that has now become backwards compatible. I had originally purchased this as an 'Arcade' game (i.e. digital download, so no physical disc).
    I played this a couple of times a few days ago, but now cannot find it anywhere! It doesn't appear in 'My Games', and it's dropped off my 'recent app' activity on the home screen.
    As I don't have (or need) a physical disc to play, how on earth am I supposed to play it?

    The help pages are very vague about this, and I'm stumped.

    *edit*
    And as if by magic, all my 360 games now appear on my 'Games' list. Why did that happen?!
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2016
  18. Noxia

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 30, 2010

    Posts: 7,200

    Location: Wiltshire

    I'm tempted to buy an XBONE due to my requirement to own all consoles, even if it makes no sense as all my multi plats will always be on PS4 and I don't like Halo.
    I was wondering what hte difference is between Forza X and Horizons? I don't really like sim racers like GT and would prefer something more arcadey.
    Also, I cant see where to buy Elite Dangerous from, is it download only?
     
  19. Dsteviedee

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 15, 2006

    Posts: 907

    Location: Up Carp Creek

    Horizon is more arcadey than sim, great fun too.
    Elite is download only at present.
     
  20. Noxia

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 30, 2010

    Posts: 7,200

    Location: Wiltshire

    Thank you, is it that one where you buy cars and can make decals and things?
    I'm pretty much getting this just in case some awesome exclusive comes out and Rare Replay looks really good as well.