1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The Radeon RX 6800 (XT) Owners Thread.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 12 Nov 2020.

  1. David McGowan

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Sep 2021

    Posts: 11

    Location: Scotland

    It is, I'll do that now.

    My working hours prevent me from contacting the customer service line.

    Thanks for the suggestion!
     
  2. Dave85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Jan 2004

    Posts: 9,010

    Location: Sunny Scotland

    My 6800XT is driving me mental. It loads the first map of CSGO no issues. Second map will hang no matter what I try every little google trick i find. It takes 2 to 3 minutes to load. Stick an old nvidia in no issue. Run the 680xt in pop os no issue. Something with this card just hates loading cs go maps on windows and I'm not the only one with this issue.
     
  3. Sarge2255

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 20 Jan 2021

    Posts: 1,337

    That has happend in the past. Months ago, many people purchased Gigabyte 6800XTs only to have all their orders cancelled, they said it was due to their system taking orders when the product was out of stock. Maybe they can offer you an alternative GPU?
     
  4. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,076

    Location: Newcastle, England

    My Sapphire 6800XT nitro oc has been hitting temps of 73c on core and 94c on junction, should i be worried? I know 110c is when it throttles. And this is with gpu auto undervolt. Thats during a game of Subnautica.
     
    Last edited: 4 Oct 2021
  5. LtMatt

    Vendor Rep

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 36,480

    Location: United Kingdom

    No.
     
  6. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,076

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Lol cool thanks.
     
  7. LtMatt

    Vendor Rep

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 36,480

    Location: United Kingdom

    You could probably narrow the junction between the two with a re-paste or liquid metal if, like me it would keep you up at night with a 20c delta. :D

    But those temps and deltas are perfectly fine and nothing to worry about for the typical user. :)
     
  8. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,076

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Thanks for the help I really appreciate it. Nah I'll just live with it for now I've not had any crashes or anything. Can be a bit noisy fan wise but I can live with it.
     
  9. KNiVES

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jan 2005

    Posts: 14,871

    By any chance is the game on a separate drive to Windows

    You can verify if this bug affects you by looking at your shader cache folder, if it's got a bunch of 64kb files it's bugged (something is stopping it from saving more cache beyond 64kb)

    C:\Users\ [username] \AppData\Local\AMD\DxCache

    Half my games perform very badly if on a different drive to Windows (reinstalling on drive c fixes it every time) which is bizarre, and if I knew this before, I would not have bought this card
     
    Last edited: 7 Oct 2021
  10. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Oct 2013

    Posts: 3,142

    Have to ask but how on earth is that the GPU's fault ? Surely that's a game/Store platform issue ?
     
  11. Dave85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Jan 2004

    Posts: 9,010

    Location: Sunny Scotland

    Checked and yes total bunch of 64kb files and was on a separate SSD. Will give this a quick try and if it works then awesome.
     
  12. Dave85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Jan 2004

    Posts: 9,010

    Location: Sunny Scotland

    Has not resolved it. Deleted everything to do with steam. Registry files etc and every cache and app data file. Full clean reinstall of drivers from AMD. Same nonsense of 64kb files one map load then instant hang on the next mapload for 2 to 3 minutes. Kind of remembering why I had not had a AMD GPU for about 10 years plus at this point hah.
     
  13. LtMatt

    Vendor Rep

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 36,480

    Location: United Kingdom

    The RX 6800 XT seems to run Call of Duty Vanguard pretty well at 4K.
     
  14. SydDanube

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Feb 2015

    Posts: 157

    Recently purchased the Sapphire Pulse 6800XT from OCUK :cry:
    Done so by selling older GPUs with change for some more Haribo.
    Anyway my question is what is the most effective / simple way to get some extra horsepower from the card using the Radeon Software?
    I used to have the Radeon VII and that card loved max power and max VRAM, with a small undervolt to 1000mV.
    Can i do the same on this 6800XT?
    Also to note i have Smart Access Memory enabled.
    I mainly play Battlefield 2042.
     
  15. SydDanube

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Feb 2015

    Posts: 157

  16. LtMatt

    Vendor Rep

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 36,480

    Location: United Kingdom

    +15% power limit, memory at either 2112 or 2124Mhz (whichever gives higher FPS) + Fast Timings set, minimum clock frequency 100Mhz below max clock frequency in GPU Tuning.

    Increase both min/max core clock frequency in 25Mhz increments until you either stop seeing performance increases (use Timespy to check graphics score) or you get a driver/Timespy crash or artifacts.
     
    Last edited: 18 Dec 2021
  17. SydDanube

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Feb 2015

    Posts: 157

    Thanks for your help...

     
  18. Kirby Wurm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,242

    Location: Droitwich, UK

    Just to second this I have the same card and the delta between the GPU and hotspot temps is similar. I've managed to undervolt mine to 1.050 volts at default clocks and it's reduced it by a few degrees while running cooler overall and sucking down less power. Performance has even increased slightly too. Couple that with setting memory to 2112MHz with fast timings as LtMatt says and you'll get a slightly faster, quieter and cooler card.

    Damn I love this card, as I keep repeating (because I'm very torn and can't make my damned mind up) I managed to snag an RTX 3090 FE at the last drop and don't know whether to switch to it or keep the 6800 XT and sell the FE to a friend or return it. Bah!
     
  19. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,076

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Ah that's interesting thanks for that. Are those your settings for the card? Can you let me know all the settings you use. I'll try mine exactly the same thanks. :)

    Ninja edit.. I've just seen LtMatt post above I'll try his settings are now it goes.
     
  20. Kirby Wurm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,242

    Location: Droitwich, UK

    No worries. If you do want to try my settings they are literally just what I said above:

    Set voltage to 1.050v (which is 100mv lower than stock)
    Set mem clock to 2112MHz
    Set memory timings to fast

    And it's as simple as that! The core to hot spot delta can still be mid to high teens but doesn't reach 20°c anymore.