1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 56 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. eric_knapper

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 83

  2. Aretak

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 May 2014

    Posts: 2,616

    Man, Sapphire have been using that same drawing for a long, long time. It appears on a sticker on the anti-static bag of a Sapphire HD 7850 that I have.

    It's just them covering all bases without having to create something new for each card, which is why it lists so many different configurations. I wouldn't expect that connecting a 6-pin would work, but it's up to you if you want to try. You could try one of those 6-pin to 8-pin converters as suggested, if you're comfortable with it. Never been a fan of such things myself, but people must use them I suppose.

    My worry about the PSU itself wouldn't be its specs necessarily, but just its age in general. Capacitors fail over time, and Vega is pretty power hungry. It's quite a load for an old PSU, especially when you need to start using adapters to even connect the card up. I wouldn't risk my shiny new card with such a setup, but maybe I'm overcautious.
     
  3. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

  4. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,452

    Location: N.Ireland

    There is a slider to the left called 'Frequency %'.
     
  5. boomish

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jan 2011

    Posts: 65

    Thanks for the replies Eric knapper and the wise words Aretak...
    Yea a new supply it is, I plan a full upgrade next year so it’ll be worth it..
    Thanks again for the help..
     
  6. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

    So my new Vega 56 has Hynix HBM. Am I right in thinking that means it cannot be flashed with a Vega 64 BIOS? :(
     
  7. RBImGuy

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Apr 2017

    Posts: 804

    It can but likely to run into issues.
    Personally I would say its not really worth flashing.
    Its a risk the fps difference is likely not to make a difference that one can tell.

    I have samsung hbm on my vega56 but I wont flash it.
    I may do it if I watercool it one day but not sure I do it then anyway.
    Games I play runs great anyhow
     
  8. GothicGhost

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Aug 2007

    Posts: 2,603

    On 1080 monitor would the Vega 56 play most games on highest settings?

    The Vega 64 only little more powerful for £100 more.
     
  9. RBImGuy

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Apr 2017

    Posts: 804

    I would assume so. its a bit hard to say either way, one can be cpu limited if one has an old cpu and buy a new high end gpu.
    I seen some have had so old cpu and bought a 2080 and complained about lacking fps.
    If one assume you have a relative modern cpu, yea.

    I play path of exile on 1440p with a vega 56 and runs great there.
    BFV recently due to the great engine ensure a new game runs great also with a vega.
    Benchmarks don't tell the whole story either, with freesync the cards are even out even if benchmarks says differently for your gameplay anyhow.
     
  10. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

    As I understand it, the risk with Samsung HBM is almost nil as long as you get the right BIOS for your board (i.e. reference, nano, etc.).

    So far I've managed to create two profiles that are at least Time Spy stable. Both use stock core clocks:

    P6: 1050 mV, 1537 MHz
    P7: 1100 mV, 1592 MHz
    HBM: 950 MHz
    Power Limit: +50%
    GPU Score: 7015 (+8.5% compared to stock)
    Peak Sustained Core Clock: 1570 MHz
    Peak Sustained Power Usage: 205W

    P6: 1000 mV, 1537 MHz
    P7: 1050 mV, 1592 MHz
    HBM: 950 MHz
    Power Limit: +50%
    GPU Score: 6951 (+7.5% compared to stock)
    Peak Sustained Core Clock: 1555 MHz
    Peak Sustained Power Usage: 180 W

    Losing 1% performance whilst saving 25 W seems like a good deal to me. I might try pushing the HBM further but I reckon it's near its limit. Lowering the core voltage any further will just drop the core clocks so I don't think much improvement can be had there.

    I don't seem to be able to set the fan on this Vega 56 Pulse between 0% and 50%, which is a bit annoying because the noise at 50% is definitely more than my RX 480 is at 50%. Temperatures are hovering in the low 60s during tests but I'm sure they'll go higher after an hour of gaming.

    EDIT: 960 MHz HBM passes Time Spy too! 970 MHz causes crashes.
     
    Last edited: 20 Nov 2018
  11. GothicGhost

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Aug 2007

    Posts: 2,603

    My cpu is a i5 @4.2ghz. Not sure if that's anygood now days.
     
  12. RBImGuy

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Apr 2017

    Posts: 804

    Yea, still dont like to flash if not needed.
    7k timespy and I run it with 950mv on p6/p7, 850mhz hbm.
    Cant say I need to flash it for my needs
    The card needs a waterblock to fly though.
     
  13. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

    Wow, 950 mV is low, I might try that just to see if it crashes. My HBM seems to be really good for Hynix stuff, although Samsung would still be better.

    I think I figured out the fan issue: the card simply won't enable the fan unless the GPU temperature is above 50 °C. So I set my lowest fan speed to something that is inaudible (30% in my case) for anything up to 60 °C and it seems to work fine now: it inaudibly oscillates between 0 and 30% at around 50 °C. It then ramps up to 50% at gaming temperatures (60+ °C).
     
  14. RBImGuy

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Apr 2017

    Posts: 804

    Yea I am basically balancing the fan speed with mhz/mv due to air boost is a blower fan mechanic.
    can run it on 40% or lower but haven't tried a longer gaming session yet.
     
  15. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

    I tried those lower voltages you use and managed to pass Time Spy. Obviously still need to test real games over the next few weeks to see real stability but another 20 W saved for a 1.5% drop in performance. Should allow the card to stay cooler too!

    Balanced
    P6: 1000 mV, 1537 MHz
    P7: 1050 mV, 1592 MHz
    HBM: 960 MHz
    Power Limit: +50%
    GPU Score: 6989 (+8.0% compared to stock)
    Peak Sustained Core Clock: 1555 MHz
    Peak Sustained Power Usage: 180 W

    Cool N Quiet
    P6: 950 mV, 1537 MHz
    P7: 1000 mV, 1592 MHz
    HBM: 960 MHz
    Power Limit: +50%
    GPU Score: 6894 (+6.5% compared to stock)
    Peak Sustained Core Clock: 1525 MHz
    Peak Sustained Power Usage: 160 W
     
  16. RBImGuy

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Apr 2017

    Posts: 804

    Beats the 1080 in power usage :)
    Whenever I decide on a waterblock it be interesting to find out what the card can do.
    I might wait for Navi though as it might be a upgrade at a lower power and price.
     
  17. Brazo

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Apr 2016

    Posts: 3,141

    I can only get the hbm to 940. It crashes at 950 in Timespy. (Hynix)

    It (pulse) clocks to a P7 of 1652 at 1100mv though which gets me a gfx score of 7311 on timespy.
     
  18. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,452

    Location: N.Ireland

    Very nice, I will steal these settings when I am next in Wattman.
     
  19. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,827

    I have a few hours of Overwatch with this setup now and no crashes. A lot of areas are hitting max FPS (143) even with most settings at Ultra. :o
     
  20. thebennyboy

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2013

    Posts: 3,470

    Location: North Wales