1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This is how good Corsair's Customer support is LOL

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pete_agreatguy, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. pete_agreatguy

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2012

    Posts: 116

    Location: UK

    How bad of a response can you get ...

    Corsair's Customer Support Response:
    They design a case and then don't have a clue what they have designed.
     
  2. Danny75

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 5,158

    Person thought you wanted them to send you the screws and recommended an accessory kit which has them included. May have misunderstood you just wanted the name of the screws, as you can find out very quickly in an internet search. Those screw-holes and screws are universal. It's not specific to that case. Same size screws as the four for PSU.

    #6-32 UNC https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_case_screws

    One would think they were giving you the run-around or had flat-out denied assistance or something, given the thread title.
     
  3. Daaaavvveee

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 28, 2015

    Posts: 598

    Location: Banbury, UK

    Their reply seems ok to me?
     
  4. pete_agreatguy

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2012

    Posts: 116

    Location: UK

    That's a fair comment. That link is extremely useful also! Thanks :)

    I've worked out that the normal HDD/ODD screw type secures the hdd to the tray but I am struggling to work out which screw secures the hdd tray to the hdd case.
     
  5. lurkio

    Mobster

    Joined: May 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,736

    Location: NI

    I just did a build with this case .... and also have lots of vibration noise coming from the mechanical hard drives :-(
    I have 2 x Mech HD in my rack and it is a pain for noise

    If you use mech HD's ... don't buy this case
     
  6. pete_agreatguy

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2012

    Posts: 116

    Location: UK

    @lurkio I have managed to reduce my noise issues considerably.

    I used the standard HDD/ODD screws from the kit included with the case to secure the mechanical drives to the hdd trays.

    I've used the HDD tray screws as indicated in the case manual to secure the trays to the hdd cage. They look like the bottom middle bagged screws in this image.

    *** See the following post: ***

    http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=154066
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017 at 9:53 AM
  7. lurkio

    Mobster

    Joined: May 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,736

    Location: NI

    For me its the metal box that holds the trays is what making the noise
    I removed the extra one and it reduced the noise a bit
    Might try some rubber grommets I have laying about to see if that helps

    I do have a load of HD mounting screws anyway, did u remove the rubber ones?
    or just add more screws to eash side of trays ?
     
  8. pete_agreatguy

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2012

    Posts: 116

    Location: UK

    Rubber ones? :/ I just added screws to each side of the tray and then to the only cage side (you cannot secure the cage on both sides, only one).
     
  9. lurkio

    Mobster

    Joined: May 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,736

    Location: NI

    ah get what you mean secure tray to cage
     
  10. Rroff

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 51,011

    True of many Corsair cases but not exclusive to Corsair either. In future I'll be trying to move away from having any mechanical HDDs in my main systems at all.
     
  11. andy_mk3

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 6,929

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I can't see the problem. They said they don't have that specific screw, and only sell them as part of a set.
     
  12. lurkio

    Mobster

    Joined: May 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,736

    Location: NI

    I would prefer to have a couple of storage mech HD's, if something goes wrong you have a chance to recover data, SSD fail are usually fatal to data

    The Lian Li PC7 case I had before this had great HD mounting with longer screws with grommets on them
    to slide into the mounting recepticals
     
  13. Rroff

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 51,011

    Ah yeah - I've a NAS in a rack cabinet out the way for backup which also replicates to external drives in round robin fashion and some cloud replication for certain files. Not a particularly common setup though.
     
  14. lurkio

    Mobster

    Joined: May 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,736

    Location: NI

    I have 1 x 1TB M.2 , 1 x 1TB SSD , 1 x 2TB WD black HD, 1 x 1TB samsung HD in my main rig

    NAS server with 500G SSD + 4 x 3TB in RAID 5
    Backup NAS server with 4 x 1.5TB in RAID 5
    Both NAS on a UPS
     
  15. TacticalFish

    Gangster

    Joined: May 6, 2016

    Posts: 397

    Good Lord man, how much pornography do you need?!
     


Share This Page