1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

thoughts on this set up?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by gaz2341, 16 Apr 2010.

  1. gaz2341

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Sep 2009

    Posts: 22

    [​IMG]

    Morning guys trying to shave off about £50 on this build just dont know where i can. any help would be hugely appreciated cheers
     
  2. David41

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Apr 2009

    Posts: 601

    Location: Glasgow

    The extra £50 is worth it, keep saving. :)
     
  3. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    +1 to keeping it as it is. Looks like a great build.

    But if you have to then maybe the Athlon 630 would be a better choice....

    Also I dont know if you have chosen the caviar green knowingly but the caviar blue might be a better choice - better balance between performance and power consumption (although admittedly I have no direct experience maybe check some benchmark reviews before you buy).
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2010
  4. jordan282

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Nov 2009

    Posts: 756

    intel > amd
    and the zalman case i think it s7 is amazing value for money
     
  5. FunnyKids

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Dec 2009

    Posts: 57

    I havea 2TB green, and its accesstime seem to be quite bad. Read and write speed is ok.
     
  6. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    What would the intel alternative be?
     
  7. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,188

    Location: Guildford

    What's the build for? I don't see a graphics card there so either you already have one or it's not a gaming build in which case the cpu might be overkill.
     
  8. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 431

    Location: Hythe South East

    Yeah I agree GPU??
     
  9. gaz2341

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Sep 2009

    Posts: 22

    Its got an alright built in graphics card on the mobo so no worries there. its for my father in law who only really downloads movies and burns them but wants something new and fast with windows 7. Let me know if there is any other changes which you guys think! Cheers for all the feedback so far!! Love the OC forums
     
  10. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    Will he be overclocking? If not then I think the phenom is probably not necessary. I would save the money and go for a quad or even triple core athlon. You can spend the money you save on a high performance hard drive (caviar black or similar). He will see more of an effect from that when browsing etc than from a quad cpu.
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2010
  11. Scurra

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Jul 2009

    Posts: 238

    Location: Kent UK

    Agreed, dial down the processor a few notches and spend a little more on the other components. Oh and on a side note I have a 1TB caviar green as a storage drive at the moment and it's seek time is fairly horrendous. Good thing I have a 500GB caviar black as my windows drive.
     
  12. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 431

    Location: Hythe South East

    I dont agree with above statements, keep the processor.
    Presumably he needs to Convert the files he downloads to a different format to be played on dvd player etc. The quad core with the extra Level3 cache is a good idea for this, however the hd is important and possible swap out That WD Green for a 500GB sammy F3 :D

    Read the reviews which shows that the extra cache in the Phenoms makes a difference in format conversion/transcoding.
     
  13. jak731

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Mar 2007

    Posts: 5,475

    Location: Plymouth

    A phenom 555 would shave more than £50 off and if you're lucky it might even unlock to a quad. Even if it doesn't it's still a good cpu and shouldn't make that much difference unless your dad uses multithreaded software.
     
  14. imamosher

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 431

    Location: Hythe South East

    I agree, he would need to use multithreaded software to make use of the Quadcore however if he is'nt then the argument for not going quadcore falls flat because any cpu with more than one core is pointless.

    So advice is, get the original phenom you chose and make sure he ussed a good multithreaded app to convert with which can utilize the true power of that cpu

    Good multithreaded app for converting.

    http://handbrake.fr/

    This review may be worth looking at

    http://www.anandtech.com/print/2923
     
  15. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    had not thought of that. How much difference does it make?

    guess it is up to gaz2341 whether he wants to pay for the difference, it is still quite a big cost increase.