1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Triple monitor setup question

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by klaxhu, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. klaxhu

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2012

    Posts: 254

    Location: London SE

    Hi all,

    I've got 3 monitors and would like a triple setup.
    Current GPU's: 1x Quadro 2000D with 2x DVI (also have a 1x GTX 275 Zotac available with 2x DVI).

    Monitors:
    2x Dell 2700fp 1600x1200 (VGA and DVI Only connections)
    1x U3014t 2560x1600 (DVI, HDMI, DP)

    What is the best option to set up an 4960x1600 ?

    From what I was reading, I don't think Nvidia allows these two to work on the same system anymore, they also use different drivers. So can they be used together would be the first question?
    Any thought on what the minimum requirement GPU for this would need to be?

    What is the most cost effective way for me to get to the triple screen setup with what I have ? (mostly used for 3DMax)

    Would the cleanest option be to get a card that has 1x DP/HDMI for the 30" and 2x DVI's for the smaller monitors?

    Here's how I want to place them:
    https://imgur.com/gwYnJtF
    https://imgur.com/bV70Kfj

    I've seen people do 4960x1600 PLP nvidia gtx 780, so I assume gtx 970 would be fine too, or am I wrong?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  2. Munchies

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2010

    Posts: 136

    Most cost effective would be to put one of the side monitors on your iGPU.
     
  3. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 2,720

    Just to confirm are you trying to span the screens together, so as to make one large 4960x1600 desktop, are you referring to nvidia mosaic?
     
  4. klaxhu

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2012

    Posts: 254

    Location: London SE

    just one resolution with one taskbar spanning all 3 screens is fine, not sure if that is mosaic or not?

    I have bought a gtx 970 and will give it a go with it - I did not have an integrated video card
     
  5. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 2,720

    If your running Quadro it's called Mosaic, and you would need either a Quadro or NVS card that supports 3 screens, or two compatible 2 monitor Quadro cards, so another Quadro 2000. This can't be done with unmatched cards such as your Quadro and a Geforce.

    Card such as a Quadro P400 would also do it.

    Another option is to use the GTX 970, that should span 3 screens by it self
     
  6. klaxhu

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2012

    Posts: 254

    Location: London SE

    nice, thanks for confirming that! that resolution needs indeed at least 3 GB of memory from what I've been googling. Will post results here soon
     
  7. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 2,720

    Re the 3GB thats about correct.

    With screen memory it's not just the resolution, it's also applications that are running CUDA. What happens is if you run out of memory Nvidia drivers start to use the computers main memory (thats slower), so a good amount of graphics memory is always good, especially if your running CUDA apps.
     
  8. klaxhu

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2012

    Posts: 254

    Location: London SE

    many thanks for help guys, here's the result

    2x Dell 2700fp 1600x1200
    1x U3014t 2560x1600

    4960x1600 with a Asus Strix GTX 970

    https://imgur.com/uIRL9Ko
     
  9. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 2,720

    Very nice and well done. Only suggestion I would try and get those screen lifted higher.

    I use Ergotron LX triple, however any good triple monitor stand should do for your screens as expect there is not much weight in them.
     
  10. klaxhu

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 28, 2012

    Posts: 254

    Location: London SE

    once the office is cleaned up they will go onto the wall directly =) but good advice!
    cheers
     
  11. JasonM

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 2,720

    Just be aware you may want to bring the monitors forward, so might want to consider a wall stand that off-sets them forward from the wall, otherwise wall is a good idea.