turntable help

Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
hi

Im in need of some help , I own a project debut turntable that I have had for a while but not used for ages , I would like to dust it off and set it up again but I sold my last hifi system that could get it to work.

I have speakers but need some help on what I need to get it working , I'm guessing I need a receiver , just not sure where to start?

thanks
 
Associate
Joined
11 Dec 2005
Posts
281
Hi,

You run the output from your turntable into the phono box which amplifies it to line level. You can connect it to any stereo input on an amplifier. You can use any amplifier that you choose as long as it has a spare input channel. have a look for a decent second hand amplifier - if you want something cheap try a Cyrus 1 or 2 or maybe a an Arcam Alpha - should get something decent for just a few quid (wish I'd kept my Cyrus 1).

DinAlt
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
Hi,

You run the output from your turntable into the phono box which amplifies it to line level. You can connect it to any stereo input on an amplifier. You can use any amplifier that you choose as long as it has a spare input channel. have a look for a decent second hand amplifier - if you want something cheap try a Cyrus 1 or 2 or maybe a an Arcam Alpha - should get something decent for just a few quid (wish I'd kept my Cyrus 1).

DinAlt

cheers , I know what you mean about the Cyrus , I had a Cyrus setup but sold it a while back because of not having enough room , wish I hadn't:o
 
Associate
Joined
11 Dec 2005
Posts
281
Yeah I started with a Cyrus 1 upgraded to a Cyrus 77 system and then sold it all when I got an AV system for the main room.
I've now got a Linn Sondek and wish I had room for a decent stereo only system as well :)


DinAlt
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
I have speakers but need some help on what I need to get it working , I'm guessing I need a receiver , just not sure where to start?
Yep, presuming that you have Hi-Fi speakers rather than some sort of PC speaker rig, then an integrated amp is what you need.

As you already have a phono pre-amp (the little black Pro-Ject box) then any integrated amp will do. The s/h Cyrus and Arcam amps mentioned have a similar sort of device built in to what they call the "Phono" input. So if you buy one of those, or any amp that has an input labelled as Phono, then you don't need to use your Pro-Ject box. If you decide to buy an amo or an AV receiver without a Phono input then that's when you'll need the little box.

Another very worthy amp to consider is the Creek CAS4040. This is a little gem of an amp.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
Yeah I started with a Cyrus 1 upgraded to a Cyrus 77 system and then sold it all when I got an AV system for the main room.
I've now got a Linn Sondek and wish I had room for a decent stereo only system as well :)


DinAlt
With the right AV Receiver/AV Amp then you can have your wish.

What you need is an an AV Receiver with pre-outs. You then use those to drive a Hi-Fi stereo amp that in turn drives just the front stereo pair of speakers.

For Hi-Fi use all your Hi-Fi analogue sources go to the stereo amp. For full surround you switch on the AV receiver too which powers the centre, rear surrounds and the sub. Set the Hi-Fi amp to a predetermined volume level, then control all AV volume with the AV amp as normal.

 
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
Yep, presuming that you have Hi-Fi speakers rather than some sort of PC speaker rig, then an integrated amp is what you need.

As you already have a phono pre-amp (the little black Pro-Ject box) then any integrated amp will do. The s/h Cyrus and Arcam amps mentioned have a similar sort of device built in to what they call the "Phono" input. So if you buy one of those, or any amp that has an input labelled as Phono, then you don't need to use your Pro-Ject box. If you decide to buy an amo or an AV receiver without a Phono input then that's when you'll need the little box.

Another very worthy amp to consider is the Creek CAS4040. This is a little gem of an amp.

thanks Lucid

I think that would be good if I could get an amp with phone stage intergrated that would save on wires everywhere.

Of the amps you mentioned do you think a budget of £100-150 would be enough, would prefer new really.

cheers
 
Associate
Joined
11 Dec 2005
Posts
281
You have a better source and phono input than anything you'll find on a new amp at that price level. To be honest you'll need to spend a lot of money on an amplifier that will do a better job than the project box - in this case the amplifier is just to provide gain for the speakers the pre amp is doing all the hard work.

If you have a budget of £100-150 then 2nd hand is the only way to go you can get some cracking amplifiers for that price - just try and have a demo before you buy.

DinAlt
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
I share DinAlt's view that to do the system justice you could do with something better than the average £100-£150 new amp. Also, the project box is what someone might add to a sub £300 amp as an upgrade over the built-in phono stage. Seems a backwards step to buy a budget amp and do away with the Project box just for the sake of a couple wof extra cables.

If you are dead set on a new budget amp then I'd go with the Onkyo 9155 if it is still available. It actually plays music and does the basics of what a hi-fi amp should do. If the Denon is like the 510s I have heard then I'd say its okay but doesn't set my pulse racing. Any other choices then I wouldn't bother specifally seeking amps with a phono input. At the sort of budget you are looking at then any phono input will have very basic electronics. Your Project box is a far better bet. y

I understand your reluctance to consider s/h. In practise though you'll uncover most issues before a sale especially if you call to collect. Buy used via specialist forums Pinkfish or Wigwam where fellow enthusiasts hang out and everyone knows their onions. Its very unlikely you'd have a bad experience. To equal the performance of a Nad/Cyrus/Creek or similar s/h Hi-Fi amp for £100 you'd have to spend £500+ on new. That's value you can't ignore. Ask the seller to let you listen before you buy. A true fellow enthusiast will be happy to oblige as long as you're a genuine buyer.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
Hi again

After a bit more searching I came across the Marantz PM6004 , this is a bit more expensive at around £250 but seems to get good reviews.

Again its an amp with a phono stage integrated and its something that I really need as I have got hardly any room left on my stand.

what are your thoughts on this amp , I think its a small step up from the Denon pma-520ae.

cheers
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
The mags like it. It was redesigned after the Yamaha AS500 came and stole its crown. If you think that's your solution then go for it. Our collective advice still stands; You'll get more going the second-hand route. But I guess for you that's not the preferred option.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
The mags like it. It was redesigned after the Yamaha AS500 came and stole its crown. If you think that's your solution then go for it. Our collective advice still stands; You'll get more going the second-hand route. But I guess for you that's not the preferred option.

cheers Lucid I take all your comments on board , just I always like to buy new and I understand what you get for your money after owning a Cyrus system a few years back.

But I dont feel I get my moneys worth with expensive systems in my current room due to space and size of the room.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
In the context of our discussion, room size has nothing to do with quality. You would hear the benefits of a better quality amp just the same as you would hear the bad effect of a poor quality amp. I suspect your choice is more about your preference for owning something from new.

Unless you have something new to add to the discussion I think you have all the information you need now to go out and demo some equipment. Good luck.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2007
Posts
11,209
Location
London
Hello again

I'm set on getting the Marantz pm6004 ,now as this has a integrated phono stage Im not sure what I do with the grounding wire from my project debut 3?

Do I just leave it unconnected or is there normally a grounding terminal on the back of amps with integrated phono stages?

thanks:)
 
Soldato
Joined
29 May 2010
Posts
5,972
Location
Cheshire
The answer is given on the Marantz web site. Go look at either the user manual download section and read. Or go to the 360 degree view.
 
Top