Undecided on 4k flat vs 1440p curved ultrawide - Productivity with some gaming

Man of Honour
I'm undecided between a flat 4k screen or a curved 34" ultrawide 1440p. I would place my usage as:

30% general browsing, email, etc
30% programming
20% watching video content
20% gaming but I want to get back into gaming so increase this

On my current 30" 2560x1600 screen I tend to browse or program on one side of the screen and have media opened on the other side. Initially I was leaning towards a 34" 1400p ultrawide but as my use case is more productivity I am also considering a 4k flat screen. I have a Vega 64.

Any opinions appreciated. Thank you.

Soldato
Ultrawide all the way.

I used to program for a living and I would have loved one of these for its ability to display two pages on screen at once.

And it's brilliant for gaming, the immersion factor is worth the upgrade by itself.

I will never go back to 16:9 given the choice.

Associate
My main monitor for coding/gaming has been a curved 40” 4k for the past 3 years. It’s 92cm x 54cm so about 6cm wider than a 34” ultrawide.

The main reason I mention it is that I’ve really enjoyed using it for coding. You’ll get a similar pixel density as a 34” 1440p ultrawide and you’ve got a fair bit of extra height (an extra 15cm). I have Visual Studio on it with 4 code windows (134 chars x 164 lines) and the extra vertical height is really nice – especially for things like splitting windows and viewing long-terribly-coded functions. I think it’s near the equivalent of having 2 26” monitors in portrait mode?

It does feel a little big for some games as screen edge UI elements can disappear from your main field of vision (a shared problem with ultrawide), but games do also feel more immersive. Some games I want to play in ultrawide so I’ll run them in borderless windows and just use an ultrawide aspect ratio.