1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

UnRaid HELP

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by Ncble, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. Ncble

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 30, 2017

    Posts: 22

    New to unraid, ive had it installed for about a month now on a microserver Gen8.
    Was all running fine. i had it installed from a USB. Anyway Some how the USB has
    gone missing and when i reset my power i seem to have lost everything. had about 4tb
    of data on my drives. Ive tried to start again with a new Bootable USB. However unraid
    is asking me to start afresh and assign my drives again. I dont have a clue whats going on
    or if ive lost my data. Hoping for some advise?

    Thanks.
     
  2. nox_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 12, 2006

    Posts: 514

    Next time put the usb on the internal usb header :D

    From my understanding, your data will be fine, just install unraid onto another USB and boot up again.
     
  3. Ncble

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 30, 2017

    Posts: 22

    Yeah that might be a good idea. Yeah that is what i have done, now it has taken me to the initial setup and is asking me to assign my
    drives. Didn't want to go any further just in case i make things worse lol.
     
  4. Ncble

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 30, 2017

    Posts: 22

    if i re-assign my devices will that wipe the drives or will the files that were on the drives be accessible again ???
     
  5. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 18, 2007

    Posts: 3,100

    Location: West Lothian

    You should be able to just reassign the drives and your data will show. There will be a warning before any formatting takes place.

    As above, use an internal USB header in future. Also might be worth installing the 'CA Backup / Restore Appdata' plugin which you can set to automatically back up your USB drive at regular intervals.

    (Oh and that was "advice", not "advise" ;) )
     
  6. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 18, 2007

    Posts: 3,100

    Location: West Lothian

    You'll need to remember to assign your parity drive to the correct slot though.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
  7. Steveocee

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 5, 2011

    Posts: 3,554

    Location: Derbyshire

    I’ll be the one to say it as well. Also ensure you have a backup solution in place if the data is wanted/needed/critical.
     
  8. ecksmen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 25, 2004

    Posts: 1,095

    Location: Cardiff

    You'll need to generate a new Key, as the hardware code of the USB will have changed, they let you do that for free once every 12 months period. I lost two USB drives and they wouldn't replace it again, decided at that point unraid wasn't for me. Don't see the point in having my data safe if usb failure costs me licensing. Moved over to snapraid.
     
  9. BillHicksRIP

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 28, 2005

    Posts: 959

    Ahem, had that plugin installed but not configured. That has now been rectified. Thanks for the heads-up on that. ;)
     
  10. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 3, 2005

    Posts: 855

    Location: UK

    That' a real shame, Unraid is an amazing platform.

    But you can see why, although it has a massive community they can't afford to loose registration fees. (not implying you was passing them on). They need to implement these safeguards or the net would be flooded with keys and it would jeprodise its future.
     


Share This Page