Upgrade time

Associate
This is my first build and I think it is time to give it an upgrade, especially as I have knocked console gaming on the head.

I am guessing I have around £800 to £900 (not inc VAT as I do not pay VAT) to play with.

Firstly this is where I am:

Currently a NZXT S340 case but I am getting a H500 (not including in budget)
i5 6600k
Artic Freezer 7 Pro
Asus Z170p
Hyper X Fury DDR4 RAM 4 x 4gig
EVGA Geforce GTX980 SC
EVGA 650w G2 Gold 80+
I have 2 SSDs one for a boot and one for games and a HDD which I use a a secondary backup for my photos.

I already have monitor, keyboard, mouse and headphones.

If I am honest performance is not a hindrance as I currently play at 1080p but I am thinking of moving to 1440p and 4K down the road. I would say the computer is looking old compared to newer builds I am seeing and for me that is half the appeal of PC gaming, having a nice looking machine on the desk.

Ideally I would like an AIO CPU cooler. Happy to salvage the RAM and power supply but the chip, board, cooler and GPU are at your mercy. I would also like some quieter fans is possible as I find my current NZXT fans are noisy. More than happy with RGB too.

One other thing, when I do upgrade my kit do I need to re purchase Windows?

What would you guys suggest. I would hope that this will be an upgrade to last maybe 2 years at most before having to rething an upgrade.

Thanks

Soldato

Great build, however as he said a 2 year upgrade cycle would the 2600 be a better bet, with a faster GPU like the 5700XT/2060 Super for really nice 1440p? There are laces selling the R5 2600 from £99-109, so that extra £80 would almost cover the GPU upgrade. Also need to lose the VAT so that's another ~£150, so I guess you could keep the R5 3600 and up spec the monitor as well. Just a thought! :)