Vertical GPU?

Associate
Joined
5 Nov 2020
Posts
25
Hi, I've been giving some thought to vertically mounting my GPU.

Any cons to doing this? Also, I have a Palit 3070 Gamerock, NZXT H440 case and my CPU cooler is a Scythe Mugen 5. Would there be any height issues with the GPU touching cooler?

Anyway, any advice would be appreciated. If it will work with my specs, what mount I would need to buy etc etc. Cheers. Apologies if this is in wrong section, but I am new to this.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Nov 2005
Posts
2,167
There are unfortunately a couple big disadvantages. In a whole lot of cases, specially with bigger gpus, there can be fairly limited airflow for the graphics card as its often pretty close to the glass side panel.
Pcie riser cables are the other big issue. They can be real hit and miss, specially for pie gen 4 systems. And when they go wrong they can lead to very wierd issues.
 
Associate
Joined
18 Jul 2009
Posts
1,097
Location
Tividale, West Midlands
There are unfortunately a couple big disadvantages. In a whole lot of cases, specially with bigger gpus, there can be fairly limited airflow for the graphics card as its often pretty close to the glass side panel.
Pcie riser cables are the other big issue. They can be real hit and miss, specially for pie gen 4 systems. And when they go wrong they can lead to very wierd issues.

Agreed and possibly fire hazard with a cheap riser cable!
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
149
Does your case have vertical slots or will you need an adaptor to use the main slots?
I have a fractal design r6 with the fractal riser but two slot width is my limit due to space.
Looking side on directly the top of my card aligns with the bottom of the ram if that helps gauge space and as it uses two slots above the pci slots it's not up close the the mainboard.
 
Associate
Joined
16 Feb 2021
Posts
2
I have been looking at this too. I have a Corsair 5000D airflow which has 2 vertical slots and I think my 6800xt would work nicely, especially when I add more motherboard side fans (there is a cowl which would push air across the GPU)

I can't find any reputable gen 4 risers though.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
149
I guess that gen 4 risers will start releasing soon after intels gen4 motherboards hit the market, that way riser manufacturers can be confident they work with both AMD and Intel boards
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
4,937
Location
Lincolnshire
I guess that gen 4 risers will start releasing soon after intels gen4 motherboards hit the market, that way riser manufacturers can be confident they work with both AMD and Intel boards

They already exist - LINKUP have made some, quite expensive though about £60.

I got one a few months ago when I put a custom water loop in my PC - had the BIOS reset and my GPU was vertical mounted so wouldn't boot as BIOS on defaults for PCIe slot.

Couldn't be bothered draining my brand new loop to change BIOS PCIe slot back to Gen3 to boot up... So got a LINKUP Gen4 riser and works perfectly. Also useful for future BIOS updates if it ever clears CMOS etc.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
149
I did come accross them in my search, but having never heard of them myself I wasn't going to name them, Reputable as was mentioned above I took to mean some of the big brands.

Seeing as you now vouch for them and they work perhaps you could comment on the quality and ease of installation ;)
Also I would not exclude LINKUP if I were to start looking
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
4,937
Location
Lincolnshire
I did come accross them in my search, but having never heard of them myself I wasn't going to name them, Reputable as was mentioned above I took to mean some of the big brands.

Seeing as you now vouch for them and they work perhaps you could comment on the quality and ease of installation ;)
Also I would not exclude LINKUP if I were to start looking

Look and feel just as good quality as other ‘more known’ brand risers I’ve used. Install wise it’s a riser so nothing much to it, works just the same. :D

Had no problems the last 2+ months with it, works exactly as intended. Done some 3D Mark PCIE tests too and get the same bandwidth throughput as if it was directly in the mobo.

Only downside is the cost £60-65 odd. But it’s a new product, higher cost of manufacturing at the moment so it’s to be expected. It works and it saved me a huge ball ache at the time when installing my loop :D
 
Permabanned
Joined
22 Oct 2018
Posts
2,455
High frequency parallel cables are really tricky to make, hence their very high cost. Most important thing is don't buy a cheap one. This is one time when you really do need a high quality cable.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
149
Good to know they are good kit, I certainly won't exclude them from purchase if/when I need one
 
Top Bottom