Virgin Media Discussion Thread

Soldato
Joined
28 Dec 2002
Posts
6,108
Location
South Coast
Can’t get SH3 to go into modem modem. Login, change it to modem mode, then nothing.

plugged into it, can’t get on new mgmt interface or anything.

rest the unit back to router mode and it works. Is modem mode still an accepted feature ?
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Jun 2013
Posts
9,193
Can’t get SH3 to go into modem modem. Login, change it to modem mode, then nothing.

plugged into it, can’t get on new mgmt interface or anything.

rest the unit back to router mode and it works. Is modem mode still an accepted feature ?

Yes, all the Superhubs have it. Tried a hard reset with the pinhole button? Are you connected on http://192.168.100.1 ? Are you connected to port 1 (a SH3 in modem mode only activates port 1 as the WAN connection)?
 
Soldato
Joined
28 Dec 2002
Posts
6,108
Location
South Coast
Yes, all the Superhubs have it. Tried a hard reset with the pinhole button? Are you connected on http://192.168.100.1 ? Are you connected to port 1 (a SH3 in modem mode only activates port 1 as the WAN connection)?

I repeated the process again following another reset and after about 4 hours, it's now up and running this time. Only had VM installed earlier this afternoon. 99% I've just done what I did earlier, but there we are.

Next up is to decide if I'm staying with pfsense or reverting to Untangle, I've not cancelled my Vodafone ADSL yet, so I'll prob give notice, but play with WAN failover for 30 days.
 
Associate
Joined
25 Jan 2009
Posts
510
s the Volt upgrade applicable if I buy a phone contract from Virgin or do I have to get it from O2, their customer support worker couldn't answer this question.
Well a update, phoned up to take a new phone contract, iphone 13 and 100gig, price quoted on phone way over the price quoted online, pointed that out out to the operator who didn't give a toss, asked about the Volt upgrade and she quoted a £35 price increase ( 200 mb @£61 a month ) How is this company still in business, I also find it very hard to understand the foreign call centre accents, is it possible to get hols of a English call centre ?
 
Associate
Joined
6 Jan 2006
Posts
430
Today was supposed to be the day we went gigabit from the 32Mbps FTTC we've been stuck on for the last 10 years.

2 external works visits later and it's a no go. They have agreement to use the BT ducts under the street but ours is blocked/has collapsed right in front on the neighbour's drive. Looks like Virgin need to get a permit from the council to dig up the block paved street to repair.

It's a good job they're not new neighbors that moved in 3 weeks ago or anything ;)

To be fair, the previous neighbour would have gone ballistic by now and it will need doing at some point, even if it was BT, or we would be stuck on FTTC forever.

The waiting game starts now...
 
Caporegime
Joined
23 Apr 2014
Posts
25,324
Location
Huem
Nice for new customer but not so nice for loyal customers ;)

True, might make it a bit easier to negotiate with retentions if you're renewing on Gig1 in the next week.

The loyal customer thing isn't just an issue with Virgin though, pretty much all of the Gigabit providers offer a decent initial contract with a £10-20 per month rise afterwards.
 
Caporegime
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
25,739
Location
London
Forgot to do the switch over trick this year (new contract) so paying £63pm. Just seen Virgin's gigabit service though, yum but nearly a x3 increase on the download but only ~50Mbps for upload seems a bit stingy.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Jan 2006
Posts
430
Forgot to do the switch over trick this year (new contract) so paying £63pm. Just seen Virgin's gigabit service though, yum but nearly a x3 increase on the download but only ~50Mbps for upload seems a bit stingy.

My understanding is that's due to the DOCSIS system that it runs on so the upload maxes out at ~50Mbps.
 
Soldato
Joined
8 Dec 2004
Posts
14,615
Location
Hampshire
So received my usual price increase letter from VM.
Is it the same rigmarole charade, call up, cancel, wait a few days they call back with better offer?
Whats the going rate for 350MBit people are getting?
Im on £35 a month at the moment, going up by £3.50 in Feb.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Jun 2003
Posts
34,080
Location
Wiltshire
Yep you're right on the upstream being on 3.0, that said I think DOCSIS 3.0 is able to do 200Mbps upstream

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS

so only offering 50Mbps is a policy decision?

I'd certainly be much happier with 1000/200 than 1000/50 ;)
Yes true, will be interesting if they nudge it up a bit after feeling the pressure of the many FTTP providers which has already encouraged them to bring the price down a bit.
 
Associate
Joined
7 Apr 2004
Posts
1,069
Location
Belfast
The upload limitations of Docsis will come to an end over the next few years with the full fiber rollout starting for all customers on VM. The Superhub 5.0 is also being rolled out in preperation of the 2gb increases that will begin soon.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Mar 2009
Posts
847
Location
Essex
So received my usual price increase letter from VM.
Is it the same rigmarole charade, call up, cancel, wait a few days they call back with better offer?
Whats the going rate for 350MBit people are getting?
Im on £35 a month at the moment, going up by £3.50 in Feb.

I'm about to start going through this again too. I got basic TV , phone and 350Mb last year for £45 per month, can't see myself getting that again. Mind you, I have never even plugged a phone in and can't remember when I last used the TV box so maybe I'll go BB only this time round. Would be good if people keep this thread updated with their negotiations so we all know what's achievable. From what I have read, due the price rises anyone, even in contract, can phone up and cancel before the 15th of Feb. I believe the automated system offers you minor discounts but if you stick to your guns and hold out for a person you can get better.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Mar 2004
Posts
666
Just tried to upgrade my Oompf bundle to Volt mid contract as the price for new customers is only a tenner above what I'm paying, but no go (as i expected) and the best they could offer was £117 which isn't worth it for the extra 500Mb download. I'll be in a better position when i'm OOC.
 
Associate
Joined
28 Jan 2003
Posts
1,656
Location
Bristol
Just tried to upgrade my Oompf bundle to Volt mid contract as the price for new customers is only a tenner above what I'm paying, but no go (as i expected) and the best they could offer was £117 which isn't worth it for the extra 500Mb download. I'll be in a better position when i'm OOC.

That's what getting the O2 Sim will do for you, it will auto bump you up for 6quid a month for the O2 sim as long as the sim is registered with same details.
 
Top Bottom