1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virgin Media Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by ChrisD., Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Clov!s

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2011

    Posts: 16,539

    Location:

    I can if i want to pay the contract cancellation fee :p
     
  2. MartinPrince

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 564

    If you do a lot downloading you might find 50Mb limiting, I know I would. 100Mb is the lowest I would want to manage with.
     
  3. phrases

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2011

    Posts: 719

    Yeah i download games often when i uninstall for space saving as they are gettting hefty these days even a 500gb ssd fills up in no time as a game drive. I also download files which weigh in at 50-70gb sometimes and even on 200mb i find it quite slow going!
     
  4. MartinPrince

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 564

    Yes, exactly this. Gone are the days of 1GB game downloads and DVD installs.
     
  5. Kieran

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,932

  6. koeiwong

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 4, 2010

    Posts: 82

    Don't need 500Mbps download, even 350Mbps is more than enough for most, it is the upload speed need to increase.
     
  7. MartinPrince

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 564

    Definitely, which thankfully we've just had a small bump to 35Mb. I'm off to Sweden soon where for years they've had synchronous down/up so 400Mb upload as well as download and they pay comparatively around the same as us.
     
  8. labcoattech

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 558

    Location: England

    Virgin really need to work on their upload speed if they want to stay ahead of the game, won't be long until they are superseded by Vodafone and other Fibre providers.
     
  9. moogle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2006

    Posts: 2,310

    Location: London

    Does that mean you need all the other extra crap too to get it? I echo the comments of the others that they need to up their upload game.
    I'm only on the 350Mbps package because the upload is the lowest I would deal with.

    BT need to lower their SuperFast prices too as I would have switched if they could offer a decent deal on the 330MBps package, but VM was still cheap on the retentions deal.
     
  10. Cromulent

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2007

    Posts: 3,393

    Location: England

    The business broadband has been upgraded as well. £1 a month extra for the new speeds.
     
  11. MartinPrince

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 564

  12. LewisStuart

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 20, 2004

    Posts: 4,101

    Location: Fife

    Yes
     
  13. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 17,839

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    Well I'm on Vivid 350 and while my download doesn't seem to have changed I'm getting 35Mbps upload

    [​IMG]

    Also verified by "uploading" something to "OneDrive"
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
  14. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 28,402

    Location: Welling, London

    How long before the 500 service is rolled out to everyone? Once the orders for the vvvvvip service have slowed down?
     
  15. Kol

    Don

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 13,753

    Location: London

    The download speed won't be changing for us 350mbps subscribers, the 500mbps tier is an additional tier above, the V'VIP package only.

    For me, I'm not bothered about the extra 150mbps, I barely make use of 350 as it is.
     
  16. moogle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 4, 2006

    Posts: 2,310

    Location: London

    Same here, although I had to reboot my SH3 and then also change my QoS settings in the 3rd party router to make it work!

    https://www.speedtest.net/result/8222892402.png

    I'm glad they've upped the upload. Not that I use it much but when I stream stuff from Plex at least I know I'll have more bandwidth. I'd rather sacrifice some download to increase the download:upload ratio.
     
  17. spoffle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 4, 2012

    Posts: 16,124

    My download has actually increased slightly. Not to 500, but instead of the modem syncing at about 370, it's now just over 400.
     
  18. MartinPrince

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 564

    500Mb would only be appealing to me if it came with 50Mb upload, as it's the greater upload I need.
     
  19. Beer_MonsterUK

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2004

    Posts: 434

    [​IMG]

    Man, you guys are spoiled. "WAAAA I want 50Mb upload" :D
    We're finally getting dragged into the 21st century soon. bring on the V.VIP.
     
  20. Vargas

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 15, 2012

    Posts: 4,770

    Location: Aonach Dubh

    Switched to the vvip bundle this morning. I must have been the first as I was put on hold constantly as she checked over and over with her manager :D