1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virgin Media Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by ChrisD., Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,627

    Will depend entirely on the call centre lottery. Just phone back until someone agrees.
     
  2. Steveocee

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 5, 2011

    Posts: 4,963

    Location: Derbyshire

    I had a rep round the other day door knocking. He said that with VM you can upgrade packages and downgrade back down but never go lower than your starting (contracted) package. Strictly speaking you "should" be able to upgrade to the 350Mb however I would expect them decline as it would be a lesser price and you are now out of your cooling off period so couldn't cancel.

    I would love the speeds that VM can offer and I am in a relatively new area so can get fibre blown to my house but this recent price mish-mash is really off-putting.
     
  3. flexo786

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 9, 2007

    Posts: 1,026

    Just been on the phone after the price increase letter, I was offered 350mb broadband only for £38.50 for 6 months then £42 for the remainder 6 months with £20 credit which I tired haggling and so they said they can do it for £40 a month for 12 months with £20 of the first bill instead which works our roughly the same. I proceeded to cancel and will await the call from retention team hoping they can do better. I was wondering what people have been offered from the retentions and if it was better then the above thanks.
     
  4. 2013

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,739

    How are you getting offered 330mb ?
    I can just about get them to offer me 63mb and vodafone is not sure if they can even offer it me.



    Im thinking of leaving VM I dont see any benefits outside the speeds and the price gap is getting larger with less of a difference.

    cant speed to customer services Ive had a on going issue for the last 2 years still not fixed and no suggestions given.

    When you can speed to CS its like getting talked down to by a brick wall


    Would I loose much in terms of speed if I went from VM350 to fiber 63mb

    tryied to call today I was on the phone fpr almost hours no on picked up
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019
  5. spoffle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 4, 2012

    Posts: 16,272

    Because Openreach have installed a FTTP network in my area. So when I check availability of certain services, Openreach have installed gigabit capable hardware locally.

    Check here:

    https://my.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_adslchecker
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019
  6. Hotwired

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 17, 2009

    Posts: 7,001

    Yes and no.

    The main things are you get to download files faster and have more people using your connection before it feels like crap.

    But the vast majority of the time you're not going to be using the connection anywhere near its capacity and a lower speed connection will do you just fine.
     
  7. MartinPrince

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 1,182

    I'm paying £28/month for 350Mb BB only. Still waiting for my price increase letter to land on the door mat.
     
  8. 2013

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,739

    I do download a lot on steam and other platforms would that cause freezing or lag ?

    The VM service has become awful I hate calling EVER, the product no longer justify all the issues that come along with it.

    Before I could not get fiber now I can.

    Suggestions on good suppliers who offer what they promise ??

    I think your the other person to have decent price mine is £35 originally was meant to be £30 but went up for some reason when calling to confirm. but at least no price increase for you (Yet).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2019
  9. spoffle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 4, 2012

    Posts: 16,272

  10. 2013

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,739

  11. spoffle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 4, 2012

    Posts: 16,272

    It means that your area hasn't been cabled up for BT to offer you their FTTP service.

    You can order FTTPod (fibre to the premises, on demand), which means pay them to install a fibre line specially for you, and they'll do it at great expense, but otherwise FTTP is unavailable and you'll have to wait until Openreach do the work for your area that would allow BT to offer you anything more.

    Also, I don't think Vodaphone will offer Openreach based FTTP any time soon, as they are working with another full fibre ISP for their high speed infrastructure.

    TLDR;

    Openreach haven't cabled your area up to support 330Mb, so you'll have to wait for them or another ISP to offer it.

    Have a look around at some other ISPs, as I know there are some gigabit networks in Rotherham.

    Have a look here: https://www.giga.net.uk/rotherham/
     
  12. 2013

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,739

    Thanks all the ones I have tried seam to only offer 63mb and the ones that say they can offer a little more are priced more then VM.
     
  13. Praz94

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 28, 2018

    Posts: 647

    Location: London

    Virgin Media are truly disgusting. Spent a whole 20 mins waiting for them to pick up, only for a non-english speaker to pick up the phone and claim he cant hear what im saying to just hang up!!

    I then called them again, waiting another 15 minutes (16 to be precise) for another person to pick up the phone. I asked her about deals and how it can get reduced as im paying so much and she just kept repeating the same nonsense about how im a existing customer so cant get any better deals. I told her there were plenty of people who got specific deals that were MUCH better than the sht im on now and she put me on hold so she could get a "specialist."

    I waited a further 25 minutes for just to be left listening to their awful playlist music. I just hung up as I was sick of waiting and didnt want the phone bill to end up being even more costly. (im on vodafone for mobile)

    Grand total of almost 1 hour just to get absolute **** all from these morons. Im paying £45 a month at the moment, and all Im getting is 100mb internet, basic TV on an old piece of **** box and weekend calls... I mean seriously what a ******* rip off. Im going to call again tomorrow, and in all honesty if im problems arent sorted im just going to cancel the contract as its bordering on ridiculous. The staff are also massively unhelpful.

    P.s is there anywhere I can send a complaint because ive tried calling them several times over the past week, and all I get is the same playlist playing for at least 15+ minutes, and the 2 idiots that answered today were about as useful as a damp towel.
     
  14. Steampunk

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 6,508

    You get much better results if you follow the phone menu options and go straight through to the "thinking of leaving us" department. It's a UK based team and they actually have some discounts to give out.
     
  15. 2013

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,739

    I sent it online to vm but I've never had a reply
     
  16. Praz94

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 28, 2018

    Posts: 647

    Location: London

    Will try his today, i went to the "remove a service" one and they were so unhelpful.

    Do you know how much it costs to call virgin from a non-virgin phone by the way?

    What a surprise... They really grind my gears
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2019
  17. Steampunk

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 6,508


    I believe they have a freephone number too.
     
  18. benjii

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 26, 2013

    Posts: 3,365

    Location: Plymouth

    As far as I'm aware, nothing. A while back, the more expensive 0345 numbers were forcibly changed, now they come under your contracts minutes for all 01, 02 and 03 numbers.
     
  19. BowdonUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 17, 2016

    Posts: 2,607

    Based off that picture you should be able to get the higher rate FTTC, which should be between the 80Mbps to 61Mbps download range, as well as the maximum 20Mbps upload speed.

    I think companies advertise the average speed of their customers when displaying package speeds. So you'll probably get above 63Mbps.

    It shouldnt matter much which of the big ISP's you go with as all have a capable FTTC service.

    The advantage of FTTC ISP's is they are more regulated. I find customer service is generally good. Probably because you can easily swap FTTC providers.
     
  20. MartinPrince

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2018

    Posts: 1,182

    This ten times over. I only ever go through to the UK based retentions team. In my experience I've only ever dealt with 'muppets' in Virginmedia's foreign call centre. Whereas dealing with other foreign call centres from my Utility provider and Amazon I've had great experiences.