1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We recommend you enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account. Please see the thread here
    Dismiss Notice

VLAN Solution

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by swinnie, 20 Mar 2017.

  1. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,094

    Location: Kent

    Hi Guys,

    A friend of mine has asked for some help where he needs to configure some VOIP phones into a network and they have created a vlan for each individual office, which have as few as 4 data points, and a maximum of 12.

    Each desk only has one data point going to it, so we have no choice in the fact that we have to use the handset to give a connection to the network for the PC as well.

    Is it possible to have a voice vlan for the entire network, and then have the phone use the appropriate data vlan for that office (obviously manually configured). That way I can implement solme quality of service to the voice traffic globally?

    Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Jul 2011

    Posts: 15,238

    Location: Near Northants / MK

    Yes. Entirely depends on the phone but most VoIP handsets have this option.
     
  3. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,403

    Yes but don't configure it manually. It's more than likely the the switches support voice VLANs.
     
  4. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Jul 2011

    Posts: 15,238

    Location: Near Northants / MK

    I've not personally experienced a switch that has this built in but would these allow you to specify the VID? Question basis being that the OP states there's multiple offices
     
  5. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,403

    You untag the VLAN for the stuff that plugs in the back, then tag the voice VLAN for the phone to use. Like:

    switchport access vlan 10
    switchport voice vlan 20

    For the ports in one office. Then for the next one you do:

    switchport access vlan 30
    switchport voice vlan 20

    etc.