1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voip phone system

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by jamoor, Oct 29, 2017.

  1. jamoor

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 22, 2005

    Posts: 8,115

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Has anyone here got experience with these? I am looking to setup a VOIP system at work with incoming ISDN lines.

    There are probably around 10 extensions and 4 incoming lines. I have seen the yeastar S20 appliance which seems straightforward to use and potentially reliable.

    Any recommendations?
     
  2. krozor

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 7, 2003

    Posts: 81

    Personally i would do the following:

    *Scrap the ISDN lines and go with a regular stand alone fibre line or SDSLM (will save you money)
    *Read up on 3CX - either host it onsite (buy sips) or with a 3CX hosting provider that does it all (Recommended)
    *Once 3CX is up and running maintenance is very straight forward and you have a wealth of options and features

    You may need to change all your phones to support 3CX but they do support majority of VOIP handsets now.
     
  3. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 13,439

    Location: NN4

    You can go with an on-site system and buy some cards to utilise the existing ISDN lines however with the ISDN switch off and the high costs per line I’d get them ported to a SIP Provider and go for a hosted system.
     
  4. jamoor

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 22, 2005

    Posts: 8,115

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    I already have a fibre line, however we have experienced downtime with this in the past and our failover is 4mb adsl. We should have fibre dsl broadband as a backup within the next year though.

    The only thing about 3cx is the basic version lacks some features (BLFs, call parking) otherwise there will be an ongoing licence fee which I could potentially avoid?
     
  5. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 13,439

    Location: NN4

    If you’re considering onsite, I like Sangoma systems because they’re simple
     
  6. blueboy2001

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,738

    Forget ISDN - it’s end of life soon.

    For 10 extensions I’d go hosted - you pay per handset per month, usually with SIP lines and calls included.

    Gamma Horizon or 8x8 are worth a look.
     
  7. jamoor

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 22, 2005

    Posts: 8,115

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Does anyone have experience with handsets? I've been looking at yeastar but open to ideas.

    I'm leaning towards 3cx at the moment.
     
  8. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 13,439

    Location: NN4

    Yealink :)
     
  9. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 5,442

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Polycom sip phones are worth a look as well.
    We use them with Swyx and had no issues.
     
  10. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 21,873

    It’s just phones, is it really that important what handsets you use and what software it runs on? Find a hosted provider that offers the features you want at an acceptable price, let them deal with it.
     
  11. edscdk

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 17, 2008

    Posts: 6,040

    You can get a dedicated iP telephony broad band line that my friend in the business assures me is more reliable than normal broadband.. Might be worth looking at.. Hosted I'd say was best
     
  12. Ish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Location: West Midlands

    We moved from ISDN to 3CX which we host internally. We ported our numbers over and got rid of the ISDN trunks and just use SIP trunks now. It was a big cost saving.

    We use Yealink phones.

    We previously used to have 2 internet connections (one was Virgin and then a BT Fibre service as a backup) but are now just using 1 wireless leased line.
     
  13. Jamauk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 16, 2004

    Posts: 1,200

    Location: Piers Gaveston Society

    Could always use Asterisk/Elastix and port the ISDN to a SIP provider, somewhat excessive but it's what I've done at home using an old HP N36L. I got a cheap TDM410P off eBay with 1xFXO & 3xFXS cards to utilise the old BT POTS line (got the line for FTTC so I may as well use it), and to use a few old phones I had kicking around, along with a Linksys SPA3102 as a failover. I learnt a lot in setting it up using some of the online guides are great and make it quite easy to do. For the phones I mainly use some Gigaset cordless phones through IP DECT and after much reading up and finding XML files managed to connect Cisco phones with SIP firmware installed.

    I even recently implemented an IVR, slightly pointless for a home setup but it deals with the scam callers (I was getting at least one a day before), along with answerphone that emails recordings to people, and hold music!
     
  14. Throrik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 15, 2009

    Posts: 1,101

    Location: Manchester

    The place I work for is a 3CX Re-seller and we're pretty experienced with it, and it works really well for us.

    We use SBC, BLF etc and all works fine and is fairly cheap - plus you can get them to host it for you. I also second the Yealink Phones, super easy to provision and super easy to troubleshoot.

    I also have experience with Asterix, FreePBX etc and you have a fairly good system there but a lot more potential to go wrong IMO.
     
  15. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,533

    For so few extensions and lines go for a hosted solution.
     
  16. tomcoleman

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 11, 2016

    Posts: 111

    either go hosted with Gamma or get a IP Office 500 V2 which supports ISDN and SIP with the correct licences.
     
  17. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 18,610

    Location: UK

    Polycom SIP. (polycom 331) An old company I worked for I had to implement a new 20 SIP phone configuration. We ended up going with ring central because we also needed the incoming call routing with shared lines and IVR. Loved the features. Not cheap though cos it's per user.
     
  18. jamoor

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 22, 2005

    Posts: 8,115

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    I've gone with yealink t26p phones coupled with hosted 3cx. Just configuring it thus far but I'm impressed with the ease of use, especially provisioning.
     
  19. pepp77

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 13, 2008

    Posts: 2,869

    Location: SE London Born and Bred

    Something like Gamma Horizons is good for a company of that size.
     


Share This Page