1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wait for Gigabyte M32U?

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by jayspring, 15 Oct 2021.

  1. Captain

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2011

    Posts: 19,795

    Location:

    Just letting you know that this monitor is everything I’ve been hoping for since I started wanting a 32” 4K IPS screen with a high refresh rate.

    I’m so glad I opted for this at £750, shocking that the Asus version is £3200, I know it’s mini LED but still, £2450 extra is madness.

    So far I’ve played Call of duty: Black ops, Warzone, PUBG and I’ve got Farcry 6 and RDR2 to try out later on but overall I’m very happy with it.
     
  2. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    I'm staying far away from Asus - Overpriced junk which always breaks.. Gigabyte/Aorus have been good to me for the last 1 year without any dramas! It just works and is awesome!
     
  3. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,054

    Location: Nottingham

    Got my M32u on Friday from OcUK and very happy with it.

    Had the M28u on pre order for a few weeks but changed my order to the M32u when they came in stock. The delivery dates for the M28u kept getting pushed out no idea when they gonna land. It's only another £90 for the M32u and glad I went with it.

    Was worried 32" might be to big but its fine. I've upgraded from a Benq 1080p 144hz 27" screen.

    I don't game on PC and just general desktop stuff, my onboard video card wont do 4K @ 60hz so im typing this at 1440p at 60Hz and working fine.

    I have both PS5 and Xbox Series X tested both and very happy.

    Xbox Series X worked fine 4k @ 120Hz with VRR no problems at all. Only have Warzone installed and it looks great coming from 1080p very happy.

    PS5 with Warzone and Call of Duty Cold war no problems at 4K 120Hz runs great and looks great.

    Cant tell a difference in picture quality between the two consoles, Warzone looks a little rougher round the edges on PS5 but that's because I don't think the game renders at a 4K pictures like Xbox still in PS4 mode or something. Cold War looks great and believe that's a full true 4k image.

    Was concerned about the HDMI 2.1 limited to only 24Gb/s instead of full 48Gb/s but I just cant tell a difference it takes nothing away from me playing the game.

    PS5 video settings shows 3840x2160 - 120Hz YUV420.

    Tried the HDR on both Xbox and PS5 and I've turned it off but again wasn't expecting great HDR for the price.

    Not impressed with the speakers but I cant except to much, there definitely worse than my old monitor speakers

    I'm still to update the firmware on the monitor its come installed with F02 out the box.

    Its not cheaper but compared to what's out there and what's in stock I'm very happy with £750 I've spent.
     
  4. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    Great to hear that's it been good for you - At least Gigabyte seems to do firmware updates unlike Dell/Alienware...
     
  5. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,054

    Location: Nottingham

    Updated the firmware few days ago.

    Took about 10 minutes to update and give me the finished successfully message I had no idea what it was doing after the blue bar filled glad I just left it.
     
  6. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    Good choice as you might have bricked it otherwise!
     
  7. Captain

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2011

    Posts: 19,795

    Location:

    What’s the benefit of updating the firmware? What’s changed?
     
  8. BEN_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,054

    Location: Nottingham

  9. Captain

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2011

    Posts: 19,795

    Location:

    Can't get the OSD sidekick to work, every time i try and run it, an error pops up saying more than 1 Gigabyte monitor found, please close, no idea what's going on.
     
  10. jayspring

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Oct 2021

    Posts: 7

    Location: TheGreatBeyond

    Just an update guys. After thinking about it for a while, I've decided to cancel the pre-order and try a G7. The thought of VA level contrast added to great response times with the possibility of all the issues with them being fixed has swayed me. Hopefully everything turns out OK but you never know. At the moment I'm optimistic.
     
  11. Bickaxe

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2013

    Posts: 8,733

    Location: In the pub

    Just set mine up coming from a Dell 2716DG.

    Big difference as expected.
    No dead pixels, I did miss the power button near the AC input and had a mild panic when it didn't switch on.
     
  12. silvagti

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2013

    Posts: 3,110

    Good review here though it contains paid promotion so may not be entirely impartial!

     
  13. EsaT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 10,776

    Location: Finland

    Well, it's always positive if you at least remember to plug in power cord...:p
     
  14. Bickaxe

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2013

    Posts: 8,733

    Location: In the pub

    Ha, I got that bit, it was the switch next to the socket (on the monitor, not the wall) I missed