1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Warning on KB4056894 (Intel/AMD) Fix caused Opteron Bluescreen/STOP

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Kermit, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. Kermit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 27, 2002

    Posts: 1,904

    Location: UK

    Warning of possibility the latest Microsoft KB4056894 update which I think its the one for the Intel/AMD exploit when installed on a Windows Server 2008R2 x64 (otherwise fully upto dated) with dual AMD Opteron CPUs caused a STOP error on reboot.

    This latest Microsoft fixed bluescreened one of my company servers and nothing I tried would get it to boot, safe mode=no, DSRM=no, last known good configuration=no, just got STOP 0x000000c4 each time within a second of main boot.

    In my case it was on a HP Proliant DL385 G2 with AMD Opteron CPUs thats a DC and Exchange server so it was important to get it up and running and ideally not lose todays emails. Our other proliant DL380's all with Intel Xeon's took the update and rebooted with no issues so think its restricted to AMD or specially Opteron CPU.

    Have spent a few hours trying various things without luck trying to fix it from recovery console command prompt and finally found a way to uninstall the update from this command line and once done it booted up fine. I've now rechecked Windows update, the KB4056894 is appearing again as an important update but this time its getting HIDDEN :(

    For reference, the command I needed was (note when in recovery mode my servers usual C: OS drive with Windows etc showed up as e: drive

    Code:
    dism /image:e:\ /remove-package /packagename:Package_for_RollupFix~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~7601.24002.1.4 /scratchdir:e:\temp

    To list installed updates you can use this command. Luckily the only item installed with todays date was at the bottom of the long list it generates

    Code:
    dism /image:e:\ /get-packages /format:table /scratchdir:e:\temp
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  2. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,619

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Not looking forward to this potential headache.
     
  3. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 5,444

    Location: N.Ireland

    Thanks Kermit. Reminds me of the painful troubleshooting when trying to restore from a recovery partition and remembering the drive being another letter can waste you a ton of head scratching time.
     
  4. Kermit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 27, 2002

    Posts: 1,904

    Location: UK

    Looks like its not just me and someone else with a similar CPU but Win7 x64 [which is same ballpark as Server 2008R2 in terms of kernal] also had the problem with the update on a PC with Dual Opterons and found the same solution as me although I'm pleased with myself for working it out independently :D

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...-2018-01/f09a8be3-5313-40bb-9cef-727fcdd4cd56

    Mine's the Simon (UK) post as think MS need to withdraw that update for Opterons and work with AMD to get it right.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  5. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 5,444

    Location: N.Ireland

    I loved my Opteron CPU must have been about 2006 or thereabouts?
     
  6. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 11, 2009

    Posts: 13,854

    Location: Havering

    Thanks for this. We only have 1 Opteron (not Operton right :p?) based server at work and haven't yet installed the update due to how critical it's needed, but I'll hold off on the update for now. Luckily, the system itself is pretty isolated so no major concerns for Spectre/Meltdown.
     
  7. smogsy

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,352

    Location: @ManCave

    did you not get a statement from your MS/AV provider?

    lot of AV's need to be updated to edit registry keys & not cause major issues, over wise you will see BSOD after the updates. caused by the AV solutions :D

    Linux works ok of course.. :)
     
  8. wolfie138

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 8, 2013

    Posts: 1,452

    i have that update,went on no prob on my Win 7 machine, but it was from yesterday, not sure if it's for this Meltdown exploit?
     
  9. Scythe

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 23, 2005

    Posts: 5,129

    This isn't linked to AV's, the update on older AMD CPU systems is causing blue screens...
     
  10. smogsy

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,352

    Location: @ManCave

    true, but AV's are also causing BSOD this is even on Intel CPU's so dont apply the update willynilly.
     
  11. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 14,320

    Location: UK

    I have disabled Windows Update on my Windows 10 systems for now until I see what happens. Windows 7 is check for updates but I see one of these is available. I can’t be bothered with annoying issues with things not fully tested right now. I don’t need headaches if things go wrong with these patches.
     
  12. Feek

    Don

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 24,134

    Location: In the radio shack

    I couldn't bear it any more, had to edit :)
     
  13. smogsy

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,352

    Location: @ManCave

    here you go

    constantly being updated:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...iuirADzf3cL42FQ/htmlview?usp=sharing&sle=true
     
  14. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 11, 2009

    Posts: 13,854

    Location: Havering

    https://www.theverge.com/2018/1/9/1...t=chorus&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

    Looking here, it seems to be K8 based CPUs that are suffering the issue. Quick seach on OP's server model seems to point the Opteron in his server is K8 based. Need to check mine, can't remember if it's K8 or K10 based.
     
  15. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 26,657

  16. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 14,320

    Location: UK

    Aren’t all journalists?
     
  17. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 26,657

    Some are worse than others, talk about fact checking, i don't know where they got this information from but had they even read more than two lines of whatever the source was it would have looked pretty much the same as all the rest of them do, IE making it clear its only 10 year old Athlon CPU's that are affected.

    Tom Warren really is the most useless journalists on the net, everyone but him at least got the facts right.